Nepal PM K P Sharma Oli to expand Cabinet

Oli is all set to expand his Cabinet today and induct new ministers in an attempt to give shape to his Council of Ministers.

Published: 16th March 2018 07:23 PM  |   Last Updated: 16th March 2018 07:23 PM   |  A+A-

K P Sharma Oli. (Photo: YouTube)


KATHMANDU: Nepal's Prime Minister K P Sharma Oli is all set to expand his Cabinet today and induct new ministers in an attempt to give shape to his Council of Ministers.

Lawmakers from the CPN-UML, the CPN Maoist Centre and the Federal Socialist Forum Nepal will be inducted into the Cabinet, Oil's Political Advisor Bishnu Rimal was quoted as saying by the Himalayan Times.

Yesterday, Oli held consultations with the Communist Party of Nepal (Maoist-Centre) chief Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda' regarding the Cabinet expansion.

From the CPN-UML, lawmakers Pradip Gyawali, Gokul Baskota, Prem Ale Magar, Raghubir Mahaseth, Rabindra Adhikari and Bhanu Bhakta Dhakal are likely to get ministerial berths, sources said.

MPs from the CPN- Maoist Centre Janardan Sharma, Shakti Bahadur Basnet, Barshaman Pun, Bina Magar and Giri Raj Mani Pokhrel are expected to be inducted in the Oli's ministry.

At present, the Oli Cabinet has seven members including lawmakers Ishwar Pokhrel, Lal Babu Pandit, Yubaraj Khatiwada, Tham Maya Thapa, Ram Bahadur Thapa and Matrika Yadav.

Meanwhile, CPN-UML lawmaker Shivamaya Tumbahamphe was today elected as Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives.

The Left alliance candidate defeated her rival Pushpa Bhusal of the main opposition Nepali Congress by 140 votes. Tumbahamphe secured by 201 votes while Bhusal got 61. Out of the total 275 members of the House, 261 lawmakers cast their vote during the election.

CPN-Maoist Centre lawmaker Dev Gurung had proposed her name for the post and seconded by CPN-UML Rabindra Adhikari. CPN-Maoist Centre MP Krishna Bahadur Mahara had been elected to the post of Speaker of the House of Representatives during a voting at Parliament building last week.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp