61 people bag 2016’s Rajyotsava awards

The award, announced by state govt, carries cash prize of B1 lakh and 20 gm of gold.

Published: 31st October 2016 07:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 31st October 2016 07:00 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

BENGALURU: The state government on Sunday announced the list of 61 Rajyotsava awardees for the year 2016. Notable among the winners are activist Bezwada Wilson, who was recently the recipient of Magsaysay award, Justice Shivaraj Patil, film actress Lakshmi and actor and Kannada film producer Sa Ra Govindu.

Shivaraj Patil

Similar to last year, the government has restricted the number of awardees and exceeded last year’s count only by one.

Recently, the High Court had directed the state government to consider the draft guidelines submitted by the expert committee headed by former High Court judge Nagamohan Das, in relation to the selection of Rajyotsava awardees.

However the government decided to consider the guidelines only from next year.  The award carries a citation, cash prize of `1 lakh and 20 gm of gold.

Stay up to date on all the latest Bengaluru news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp