With Lt. Colonel Prasad Shrikant Purohit, 7 of 14 Malegaon blast accused out on bail now

The other accused in the 2008 Malegaon blast include Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur, Shivnarayan Kalsangra, Shyam Sahu, Pravin Takalgi and Ajay Rahirkar.

Published: 22nd August 2017 08:10 AM  |   Last Updated: 22nd August 2017 08:10 AM   |  A+A-

Malegaon blast case accused Lt Col Prasad Purohit being taken to a session court in Mumbai. (File Photo: PTI)

By Express News Service

MUMBAI: With Lt. Colonel Prasad Shrikant Purohit granted bail by the Supreme Court, almost all the key accused in the Malegaon blast case are out on bail.

While the Bombay High Court granted bail to Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur on April 25, 2017, several others were granted bail at different intervals in the past nine years. The other accused, who have not moved bail applications as yet would now do so and will be hopeful after the Supreme Court decision, said Adv. Prashant Magoo, who has represented several of the accused in court.

The incident dates back to September 29, 2008 when two bombs were planted on a motorbike in a busy market area in Malegaon exploded, killing seven people. The Maharashtra Anti-Terrorism Squad (ATS) got its first breakthrough in the case by tracing the motorbike owner. Links given by him led to the arrest of three accused on October 24, 2008.

The ATS arrested Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur, Shiv Narayan Gopal Singh Kalsanghra, and Shyam Bhawarlal Sahu. Names of organisations such as the Rashtriya Jagran Manch, Sharda Sarvagya Peeth, Hindu Rashtra Sena and Abhinav Bharat came up in the investigation and several people linked to these organisations were arrested.On November 4, 2008, the ATS arrested Lt. Col. Prasad Shrikant Purohit, a serving Army officer, for his involvement.

The first charge sheet was filed by the Maharashtra ATS in the court on January 20, 2009. Initially, the stringent MCOCA was applied to the accused. However, in July 2009, the trial court dropped the MCOCA charges against the accused. In the additional charge sheet filed on April 21, 2011, the ATS added more names and the number of accused reached 16.

The Bombay HC in 2010 restored the charges under MCOCA. But, on April 15, 2015, the Supreme Court set aside the Bombay HC order and dropped the MCOCA charges, stating there was hardly any evidence against the accused in the previous cases.

In 2016, the National Investigation Agency (NIA) dropped charges against Sadhvi Pragya and five others, saying there was insufficient evidence to prosecute them. Names of two other accused, Lokesh Sharma and Dhan Sing, too appear to have been dropped from the chargesheet.

With Purohit’s bail, now, seven of the 14 accused; Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur, Shivnarayan Kalsangra, Shyam Sahu, Pravin Takalgi, Ajay Rahirkar and Jagdish Mhatreare out on bail.

Two accused, Ramji Kalsangra and Sandip Dange are said to be absconding. However, according to retired ATS officials, they were allegedly killed by the ATS in 2008. Ramesh Upadhyaya, Samir Kulkarni, Rakesh Dhawade, Sudhakar Dwivedi and Sudhakar Chaturvedi are the accused who are yet to get bail in the case.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp