Youths Dominate State Film Awards List

Around 25 of the total 36 awards announced were bagged by young performers, said Minister Thiruvanchoor Radhakrishnan

Published: 20th April 2014 08:41 AM  |   Last Updated: 20th April 2014 08:41 AM   |  A+A-


The award for the best lyricist has gone to Prabha Varma (Ethu Sundara Swapnam- Nadan) and Madhu Vasudevan (Ottaykku Paadunna Poonkuyile- Nadan); music director: Ouseppachan (Ottaykku Paadunna Poonkuyile, Ethu Sundara Swapnam), background music: Bijibal (Balyakalasakhi), playback singers: Karthik (Janmantharangalil Enmanthraveenayil, Orissa) and Vaikom Vijayalekshmi (Ottaykkupaaduna Poonkuyile);  The award for best film editing has been conferred upon K Rajagopal (Oru Indian Pranayakatha);

M Baava won the award for the best art director for his work in Lijo Jose Pellissery’s ‘Amen’, while Harikumar Madhavan Nair. Rajeevan Ayyappan and N Harikumar bagged the honours for the best sound recordists for ‘Kanyaka Talkies’. Best make-up man: Pattanam Rasheed (Swapanam); colourist: Reghu Raman (Ay aal); Siji Thomas Nobel has won the award for the best costume design for Amen; dubbing artists: Ambutty (Vasanthathinte Kanalvazhikalil) and Sreeja Ravi (Ayaal); choreographer: Kumar Shanthi (Orissa), and debut director: K R Manoj (Kanyaka Talkies). Special jury award for direction: Aneesh Anwar for ‘Zachariayude Garbhinikal’.

Mridula Warrier won a special mention from the jury for her song ‘Lalee Lalee’ from ‘Kalimannu’. Special jury mention for direction: Suresh Unnithan (Ayaal), actors: Kalabhavan Shajon (Drishyam), Sanusha (Zachariayude Garbhinikal), music director: Afsal Yusuf (Emmanuel, God For Sale). Best children’s film: Philips and the Monkey Pen; The best book on cinema is  ‘Kazchayude Sathyam’ (N Jayachadran Nair) and ‘Indian Cinemayude Nooru Varshangal’ (Vijayakrishnan) and the award for the best article on cinema has been given to ‘Daivanarthakante Kopam’ (I Shanmughadas) and ‘Charithrathe Chalachithramakkiya Master’ (V Vijayakumar).

Jury chairman and noted Tamil director  Bharathiraja, Chalachithra Academy chairman Priyadarshan, apart from  the jury members, were also present.

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp