Civil society honours performing MPs

Nine parliamentarians who stood out with their debates and interventions in both Houses were honoured with the Sansad Ratna award.

Published: 28th May 2017 01:20 AM  |   Last Updated: 28th May 2017 04:31 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: Nine parliamentarians who stood out with their debates and interventions in both Houses were honoured with the Sansad Ratna award.
Seniors  like five-time BJD MP Bhartruhari Mahtab from Cuttack, and RSP’s three-time MP, N K Premachandran, from Kollam, were among the recipients.
The rest four from Lok Sabha are first timers, all from Maharashtra — Shrirang Appa Barne (Shiv Sena, Maval), Rajeev Shankarrrao Satav (Congress, Hingoli), Dhananjay Bhimrao Mahadik (NCP, Kolhapur) and  Heena Vijaykumar Gavit (BJP, Nandurbar).

Shiv Sena MP Sanjay Raut from Maharashtra, CPI (M) MPs KN Balagopal and TN Seema from Kerala were the chosen ones from Rajya Sabha.
The winners were judged on the basis of debates initiated, questions, private member bills moved and attendance.

Kerala Governor and former Chief Justice of India P Sathasivam distributed the award, instituted by Prime Point Foundation, Chennai, to the MPs at a function on Saturday.
Sathasivam recalled that when Parliament introduced the MP Local Area Development (MPLAD) scheme, Bhim Singh of Panther’s Party of Jammu and Kashmir  filed a petition in the Supreme Court. Sathasivam was part of the five-member constitution  bench formed to decide the matter.

“Four members of the bench were against the scheme because there was no constitutional provision. I was the only one in favour, but I managed to convince other judges. In fact I was asked to write the judgment. In my village in Tamil Nadu, the road was laid using MPLAD fund,” he said.
Arjun Ram Meghwal, Minister of State for Finance and Corporate Affairs, was among those present.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp