Mylapore academy honours veterans

Published: 28th August 2012 09:20 AM  |   Last Updated: 28th August 2012 09:20 AM   |  A+A-

In an evening of small screen glamour and theatre tradition, the Mylapore Academy’s 43rd Annual Awards Function saw veterans and stalwarts from the industry receive lifetime achievement awards.

The Sri Parthasarathy Swami Sabha Silver Rolling Trophy for lifetime achievement in Tamil dramas went to Kartik Rajagopal from Kartik Fine Arts and veterans V S Raghavan, who has acted in more than 1000 films and numerous tele-serials and dramas, and A R Srinivasan, a prominent theatre personality. M Saravanan of AVM studios and comedian, actor and theatre artiste S Ve Shekar won lifetime achievement awards for television serials and shows. 

Tamil serial Saravanan Meenatchi proved to be most popular as it swept all the awards for best serial, best actor (male), best actor (female), best director and best character actor. Anchors Siva Karthikeyan and Yugi Sethu, shared the award for best entertainment show anchor.

Chief Guest G Srinivasan, chairman and managing director of United India Insurance and chairman of New India Assurance gave away the  prizes and said that it was heartening to see such enthusiasm for theatre even today. He lamented the lack of entries for the awards. “The small number of entries make it difficult for the judging panel to nominate awards. I ask  producers and directors to send entries.”

Nalli Kuppuswami Chetty, partner, Nalli Chinnaswami Chetty and vice president of the Mylapore Academy and R Krishnaswami, president of Federation of City Sabhas were the guests of honour.

The awards ceremony was preceded by a drama, Sangamam by Bindu Stage, which was also adjudged as the best stage play of 2011.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp