Tamil theatre veterans, artistes honoured

A total of 50 awards under various categories were presented to stage and small screen actors at the event organised by Mylapore Academy

Published: 22nd July 2014 07:43 AM  |   Last Updated: 22nd July 2014 07:43 AM   |  A+A-


CHENNAI: Noted stage, television and film personalities Visu, Kathadi Ramamoorthy and Delhi Ganesh won top honours at the  45th annual awards for Tamil Stage Plays and Television Serials for 2013, organised by the Mylapore Academy here on Sunday.

A total of 50 awards in various categories were distributed to a galaxy of stage and small screen artistes at a function held at Narada Gana Sabha.

Recalling the golden days of yesteryear stage stars, Nalli Kuppuswami Chetty, who was the guest of honour, lauded the contribution of the three veterans and said that Tamil plays had become an integral part of our culture and the present generation of artistes continued to keep up the rich tradition alive. Prestigious awards such as the Dr T S Doraiswamy Silver Rolling Trophy for Best Stage was bagged by Super Kudumbam of Stage Creations, while the Kalki Fine Arts Silver Rolling Trophy for Best Story Writer went to Sreevathson V for Nallathore Veenai and the S Ve Shekar Silver Rolling Trophy for Best Comedy Play to Sabash Maaple staged by Satya Sai Creations.

The R S Manohar Silver Rolling Trophy for Mythological Play went to Soora Samharam staged by Tamilarasan Theatre.

The Dr Lakshmi Chaturvedi Silver Rolling Trophy for Best Actress was awarded to Vaishnavi for Nallathore Veenai.Besides, awards were also presented to best-maintained auditoriums and Sabhas. The S Viswanathan Silver Rolling Trophy for Best A C Auditorium was bagged by Dr Preetha Reddy Auditorium at Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, the award for Best Non-Air Conditioned Auditorium went to Mylapore Fine Arts Club Auditorium  and award for Best Sabha for promotion of fine arts (own auditorium) was presented to Narada Gana Sabha.

Distributing the awards, T S Sridhar, Additional Chief Secretary and Commissioner, Revenue Administration, who was the chief guest, waxed eloquent about the stalwarts of Tamil stage plays, their impact on audiences over the years and the social messages conveyed through the medium of drama.

The senior IAS officer commended the efforts of Mylapore Academy over the last 45 years in recognising histrionic talents, besides encouraging technicians like makeup artistes and set, light and music providers for stage plays. He also pointed out the impact of television serials and the large following they had across the State.

Earlier, Shraddha presented Hanuman by V Sreevatson and sponsored by Kartik Fine Arts.

List of Drama Awards-Television serials

n Production House – AVM Silver Rolling Trophy Raadan Media Works

n Serial – Dr T S Doraiswamy Silver Rolling Trophy Thendral (Vikatan Tele Vistas)

n Screenplay/Dialogue Writer - Sivashankari Silver Rolling Trophy Pa Raghavan (Vani Rani)

n Director - Pioneer Director K Subrahmanyam Silver Rolling Trophy S Kumaran (Deivamagal)

n Actor - Ehrlich Subramaniam Silver Rolling Trophy Venu Arvind (Vani Rani)

n Actress - Dr Lakshmi Chaturvedi Silver Rolling Trophy Raadhika Saratkumar (Vani Rani )

n Character Actor Auditor Sridhar (Deivamagal)

n Character Actress Mahalakshmi (Vani Rani)

n Negative Role Actor Baboos (Vani Rani)

n Negative Role Actress Sabita Anand (Deivamagal)

n Music Director Satya & Hari (Vani Rani)

n Award for Child Artiste Baby Neha (Vani Rani)

n Award for Entertainment Show Anchor Ramya Aparajith

n K N Dhandayuthapnai Pillai Trophy for Life Time Achievement Delhi Ganesh

n Roll of Honour Mouli

n Roll of Honour Kathadi Ramamurthi

n Roll of Honour Srinivasamurthi

n All Rounder K Balachander Rolling Trophy Raadhika Saratkumar

n Award for Tele Serials for entertainment value Nadaswaram

n  Award for Tele Serials for entertainment value Thirumathi Selvam

n  Award for Tele Serials for entertainment value Sindhu Bairavi


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp