Hyderabad High Court bifurcation: Centre approves judges’ proposal

It is learnt that the Andhra government is determined to establish its High Court in the new capital Amaravati city by the end of 2018.

Published: 26th October 2017 03:29 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th October 2017 08:31 AM   |  A+A-

Hyderabad High Court. (File photo)

Hyderabad High Court. (File photo)

By Express News Service

HYDERABAD: To expedite the process of bifurcation of the existing common High Court at Hyderabad, the Union Law Ministry has recently approved the options exercised by the sitting judges between Andhra Pradesh and Telangana High Courts. The Supreme Court collegium has already given its nod to these options.

As for the judges transferred from other High Courts to this court, a decision on their allotment to either of the States will be taken after establishment of AP High Court in the new capital Amaravati city or its surroundings. The judges will be posted in AP and Telangana in 58:42 ratio as laid down in the AP State Reorganization Act, 2014.

It is learnt that the AP government is determined to establish the AP High Court by the end of 2018. The government intends to have no issues pending, including High Court’s bifurcation, between AP and Telangana by the next Assembly elections scheduled to take place in 2019.

At present, the Hyderabad High Court has 31 judges, including acting chief justice Ramesh Ranganathan, against the total sanctioned strength of 61. Of them, two, justices V Ramasubramanian and Suresh Kumar Kait, have come on transfer from other High Courts to this court.

Earlier, two judges of this High Court were transferred to other States. Of them, justice R Subhash Reddy is at present the chief justice of the Gujarat High Court and justice Dama Seshadri Naidu is serving as a judge of the Kerala High Court.

Likely allotment of judges to AP and TS HC

AP High Court

Acting CJ Ramesh Ranganathan and justices C Praveen Kumar, SV Bhatti, AV Sesha Sai, A Ramalingeswara Rao, M Seetharama Murti, U Durga Prasad Rao, T Sunil Chowdary, M Satyanarayana Murthy, A Shankar Narayana, G Shyam Prasad, J Uma Devi, N Balayogi, T Rajani, DVSS Somayajulu, K Vijaya Lakshmi and M Ganga Rao.

Telangana HC

Justices CV Nagarjuna Reddy, PV Sanjay Kumar, MS Ramachandra Rao, A Rajasheker Reddy, P Naveen Rao, Challa Kodanda Ram, B Siva Sankara Rao, MSK Jaiswal, Shameem Akther, P Keshava Rao, Abhinand Kumar Shavili and T Amarnath Goud.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp