Atlas-Film Critics Awards Announced

Published: 05th April 2015 06:02 AM  |   Last Updated: 05th April 2015 06:02 AM   |  A+A-

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Ottal, directed by Jayaraj, and Iyobinte Pusthakam, directed by Amal Neerad, shared the award for best feature film in 2014 in the Atlas-Film Critics Awards 2014.

The award comprises a cash prize of `1 lakh, plaque and citation. Amal Neerad and Jayaraj also bagged the best directors award.

Manoj K Jayan is the best actor for his performance in the film Kukkiliyar directed by Nemom Pushparaj  and Negalukal directed by Avira Rebekka while Asha Sarath bagged best actress award for her performance in the film Varsham.

Veteran filmmaker K G George would be felicitated with Chalachitra Rathnam award. Ottamandaram, directed by Vinod Mankara, is the second best film while Vellimoonga directed by Jibu Jacob is the most popular film.

Nandu bagged second best actor award for his performance in Ottamandaram, Kukkiliyar and Alroopangal while Bhama is the second best actress for her performance in Ottamandaram and Nakku Penta Nakku Takka.

Kumarakom Vasavan, who acted as the lead in the film Ottal, bagged a special mention award while Ashanth K Shah and Amritha Sunil were selected as the best child artistEs for the films Ottal and How Old are You respectively.

The scriptwriter duo Bobby-Sanjay bagged best screenplay award for the film ‘How Old are You’. Hari Narayanan bagged the best lyricist award for the film 1983 while Gopi Sundar bagged the best music director award for the films 1983 and Nakku Penta Nakku Takka.

Sudeep Kumar is the best male playback singer for Varsham while Madhusree Narayanan  bagged the best female playback singer for the film Ottamandaram.

Best editor is Hariharaputran for the film Alroopangal while N Harikumar bagged the award for best sound recordist. Pattanam Rasheed is the best make-up man for the film Chayilyam and Kukkiliyar.

Best art director is Boban for the film ‘Angels’ while Sammera Saneesh bagged the best costume designer for the film Iyobinte Pusthakam.

Sachin Anand in Nakshathrangal and Nikki Galrani are the best new faces while Abrid Shine (1983), N K Mohammed Koya(Alif) and Jude Anthony Joseph (Om Shanti Oshana)  bagged award for best newcomer directors.

The jury comprised George Onakkoor as chairman and M F Thomas, A Chandrasekharan, film critics association president Thekkinkadu Joseph and Vattapara Ramachandran as members. Atlas Group chairman M M Ramachandran and Film Critics president Thekkinkadu Joseph announced the awards here on Saturday.

Addressing a press conference, Atlas Ramachandran remembered late Mannarakkayam Baby, an ardent film buff and critic, who laid the foundation for the film critics award right from its inception in 1978.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp