Kannada scores four at national awards

\'Bettada Jeeva\', \'Hejjegalu\', \'Puttakkana Highway\' and film critic Manu Chakravarthy have won the awards this year.

Published: 20th May 2011 03:42 AM  |   Last Updated: 16th May 2012 10:02 PM   |  A+A-


The poster of 'Bettada Jeeva'.

BANGALORE: Kannada film industry has done it again by bagging four awards at 58th National Film Awards for the year 2010.

P Sheshadri directed film 'Bettada Jeeva' won the award for Best Film on Environment. With this, Sheshadri has set a new record by becoming the first ever director to win national awards consecutively for all the six films he directed. This record has catapulted Sheshadri into a unique league of his own.

Sheshadri’s first film 'Munnudi' won a national award in 2001. This was followed by 'Athithi' (2002), 'Beru'(2004), 'Thutturi' (2007) and 'Vimukti' (2008).

The award for 'Bettada Jeeva' has added another feather to his cap. The film, based on Jnanapeeth awardee Dr K Shivaram Karanth’s novel by the same name, is about interaction between humans and nature.

“I am very happy to know that my film has been selected for the award,” said Seshadri.

The other film 'Hejjegalu', directed by Ramdas Naidu, won the Best Children’s Film Award. It is about a girl’s struggle to go to school. The main character was played by Prakruthi who had also played a pivotal character in award-winning film 'Gubbachigalu' (2008) that was directed by Abhay Simha.

Expressing happiness, director PR Ramdas Naidu said that he expected Best Child Actor Award for Prakruthi.

“I am happy over 'Hejjegalu' being selected for the award. It highlights the problems faced by girls from poor families in pursuing higher education,” Naidu added.

The other film that has won the national award is 'Puttakkana Highway', in which Prakash Raj and Shruthi play important characters. It was directed by B Suresh who made debut as full-fledged director with film TaPori more than a decade ago.

Expressing happiness, director Suresh said: “I am dedicating this award to media people like P Sainath who played a pivotal role in highlighting the marginalised sections of the society. I am happy to know that my film 'Puttakkana Highway' is selected as the best regional film,’’ Suresh added.

'Puttakkana Highway' was produced by Prakash Raj and Shylaja Nag under Duet Movies and Media House banner. The film stars Shruthi, Prakash Raj, Achyuth Kumar, Veena Sundar, Mandya Ramesh and others. Hamsalekha composed the music for the movie, while H M Ramachandra cranked the camera. Manu Chakravathy has been selected for the Best Critic Award.

CM congratulates award-winners

Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa extended his hearty congratulations to film directors P Sheshadri, Ramadas Naidu, B Suresh and film critic Manu Chakravarthy on winning National Film Awards.

“The Kannada film industry has attained high esteem both at national and international level by virtue of its quality. I hope that these national awards inspire the Kannada film industry to scale further heights of glory,” the chief minister said.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp