Parliament Monsoon Session Day 1 HIGHLIGHTS: No-confidence motion against Modi government in Lok Sabha to be discussed on Friday

The Monsoon Session will have 18 sittings amid much-expected drama in both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha. 

Published: 18th July 2018 10:44 AM  |   Last Updated: 19th July 2018 11:27 AM   |  A+A-

Parliament Monsoon Session Day 1. (Photo | Shekhar Yadav/ EPS)

By Online Desk

NEW DELHI: Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan today accepted the No Confidence Motion against the Modi government moved by the Opposition parties including Congress, TDP, RJD and CPI. The Parliament witnessed a ruckus today over various issues like mob lynching and demand for Special Status to Andhra Pradesh.  

Congress MP Jyotiraditya Scindia and CPI leader D Raja moved the motions in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha respectively. 

Congress leader Shashi Tharoor urged PM Narendra Modi to break his silence on the ongoing lynchings in the country. The House is adjourned till 2 pm later. 

The monsoon session will have 18 sittings amid much-expected drama in both the houses - Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha.

More from LIVE.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp