Axe falls on 15 rebel MLAs in AP

Published: 09th June 2013 09:56 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th June 2013 09:56 AM   |  A+A-

Fifteen rebel MLAs – nine from the ruling Congress and six from the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) – were booted out of the Andhra Pradesh Assembly with the Speaker disqualifying them for defying the whip of parties during a no-trust vote.

The disqualified MLAs had voted in favour of a no-confidence motion moved by the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) against N Kiran Kumar Reddy’s Government in the Assembly, but the government appears safe and well-positioned to weather any no-trust motion in the session.

Of the 18 rebel legislators who had voted in favour of the no-trust motion on March 15, as many as 15 legislators have been disqualified by Speaker Nadendla Manohar on Saturday.

The exit of the legislators has put Assembly numbers in the Congress’ favour. The effective strength of the Assembly has now come down to 278 from 293. As a result, the magic figure needed for the government’s survival has fallen to 139 from 147. Since the number of Congress MLAs, after the expulsion of nine legislators, will be 147, there will be no immediate threat to the government’s survival even if a no-trust motion is moved.

The nine disqualified Congress MLAs are: Alla Kali Krishna Srinivas (Nani), Peddireddy Ramachandra Reddy, Sujay Krishna Ranga Rao, Perni Venkataramaiah (Nani), Dwarampudi Chandrasekhara Reddy, Jogi Ramesh, Maddala Rajesh Kumar, Gottipati Ravikumar and Buchepalli Sivaprasada Reddy.The six axed TDP legislators are: Y Balanagi Reddy, T Vanita, Kodali Sri Venkateswara Rao (Nani), N Amarnath Reddy, AV Praveen Kumar Reddy and Piriya Sairaj.

The Speaker, however, has kept his decision pending on three TDP legislators --Chinnam Ramakotaiah, S Venugopalachary  and K Hareeswar Reddy -- as the party failed to prove its claim that the trio had violated the party’s whip.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp