Sahitya Akademi announces awards for young writers and children's literature

The award given to authors below the age of 35 carries a prize money of Rs 50,000 and plaque.

Published: 17th June 2016 12:21 AM  |   Last Updated: 17th June 2016 12:21 AM   |  A+A-

NEW DELHI: Country premier academy of letters, Sahitya Akademi, which has been news fo all the wrong reasons as number of writers had returned their awards following the killing of some writers, finally had a reason for cheer for authors. The Akademi on Thursday announced awards in category of young writers, and children literature, in various languages.

Tamil author Lakshmi Saravanakumar has been given the award Yuva Puraskar fo his novel 'Kaanakan'.  In Malayam, Soorya Gopi has been chosen for her  compilation of short stories - Uppumazhayile Pachilakal. Daughter of daughter of renowned Malayalam poet  P. K. GOPI and Kamala, Gopi who specialised in Sociology, is based in Kochi.

Chaitanya Pingali has been awarded for her Telugu book, Chittagong Viplava Vanithalu, story of women members of Indian Republic Army set in Chittagong.  For Odia, poet Jnanee Debasish Mishra  has been awarded the Yuva Puraskar for his poetry collection ‘Daaga’. 

The award given to authors below the age of 35 carries a prize money of Rs 50,000 and plaque.

For the coveted category of English writing, Raghu Karnad has been awarded the prize for his book Farthest Field: An Indian Story of the Second World War and Nilotpal Mrinal for his hindi novel Dark Horse — Ek Anakahi Dastan. Kannada write Vikama Hatwara has been given the award fo his shot stories - Zero Mathu Ondu.

The other winners are Ranjit Saranewali (Punjabi), Prarthana Saikia (Assamesse) Raka Dasgupta (Bengali), Abdus Sami (Urdu) among the list of 24 awardees. They will be given the awards during a ceremony in November. The awards were decided a different juries in respective languages.

Among the Bal Sahitya Puraskar 2016, among those who have won the prestigious award includes: Kuza Kathiresan (Tamil), NP Hafiz Mohhamad (Malayam), Sumatheendra Nadig (Kannada), Droan Viar Kohli for his hindi novel.

Guwahati based author Rashmi Nazary has been chosen for Bal Puraskar in the English category for her shot stories titled ‘His share of sky,  is collection of short stories set in Assam's Kokrajhar district.

The Bal Sahitya Puraskar also carries a prize money of Rs 50,000 and a plaque.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp