Modi thanks parties for dignified President's poll campaign

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday thanked all political parties for a very dignified campaign for the July 17 presidential election.

Published: 16th July 2017 08:28 PM  |   Last Updated: 16th July 2017 08:28 PM   |  A+A-

Prime Minister Narendra Modi with NCP chief Sharad Pawar, President of National Conference Farooq Abdullah, CPI's D. Raja, Parliamentary Affairs Ministers Ananth Kumar and MoS Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi after an all-party meeting ahead of monsoon session of Parl


NEW DELHI: Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday thanked all political parties for a very dignified campaign for the July 17 presidential election.

"It would have been better if there was a consensus for the President's election. But, the election campaign for this election was very dignified. There was no instance of use of harsh words or feelings. I thank everyone for this," Modi was quoted by a Union Minister as saying at an all-party meeting in Parliament House Complex here, ahead of Parliament's monsoon session from Monday. 

Parliamentary Affairs Minister H.N. Ananth Kumar said Modi later appealed to all the members of parliament and state assemblies to vote in the President's election. 

He thanked all political parties for their support in the passage of the Goods and Services Tax (GST) Bill and related legislations and sought their assistance for the smooth implementation of the legislation.

Modi said the programme for the celebration of the 75th anniversary of Quit India movement -- launched by Mahatma Gandhi on August 8, 1942, to demand an end to British rule in India -- will be discussed in both houses by the government.

The Prime Minister expressed concern over the flood situation in north-eastern states, and said "the government is taking all steps to provide help".

Those who attended the all-party meeting included Ghulam Nabi Azad and Jyotiraditya Scindia from the Congress, Sitaram Yechury of the Communist Party of India-Marxist, D. Raja of the CPI, Sharad Pawar and Tariq Anwar from the Nationalist Congress Party, H.D. Deve Gowda from Janata Dal-Secular, Farooq Abdullah from National Conference, Mulayam Singh Yadav from Samajwadi Party, Jaiprakash Yadav of the Rashtriya Janata Dal, M. Rajamohan Reddy from YSR Congress Party and A.P. Jithender Reddy from TRS. 

Trinamool Congress boycotted the meeting while no representative of Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal-United was seen.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp