Congress releases list of candidates for Tripura polls

Of the 56 candidates, three are women and 17 candidates are below the age of 50 years.

Published: 28th January 2018 01:21 AM  |   Last Updated: 28th January 2018 01:21 AM   |  A+A-

All India Congress Committee General Secretary Oscar Fernandes addressing the media in DCC office on Saturday | EPS


AGARTALA: The Congress on Saturday released its list of candidates for next month's elections to the 60-seat Tripura Assembly, and threw open the door for an alliance with West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress (TMC).

All India Congress Committee general secretary and in-charge of Central Election Committee Oscar Fernandes communicated the candidates' names to the leaders of Tripura unit of the party.

"Central leaders headed by party president Rahul Gandhi approved candidates for 56 seats out of the total of 60 assembly seats. The names for the remaining four seats will be declared soon," Tripura Pradesh Congress general secretary Harekrishna Bhowmik told the media after announcing the names of the party nominees.

He said: "We are ready to forge an electoral alliance with the TMC. However, in that case, TMC supremo Mamata Banerjee will have to talk to our President Rahul Gandhi to finalise the deal."

Of the 56 candidates, three are women and 17 candidates are below the age of 50 years.

State Congress chief and sitting MLA Birajit Sinha will contest from his old turf Kailashahar in northern Tripura, while Congress Legislature Party leader Gopal Roy will fight from his existing seat in Banamalipur in Agartala.

Former Congress minister Laxmi Nag, one of three women candidates, would contest from western Tripura's Dhanpur constituency, from where Chief Minister and ruling Communist Party of India-Marxist (CPI-M) politburo member Manik Sarkar has been getting elected for the past five consecutive terms.

Accompanied by state Congress vice-president Tapash Dey, Bhowmik said that no electoral alliance was so far done with any tribal-based party.

Earlier, the Tripura Congress leaders desirous of forming an electoral alliance held a series of meetings with the three tribal-based parties -- Indigenous Nationalist Party of Tripura (INPT), National Conference of Tripura (NCT) and Rajeshwar Debbarma-led faction of Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT).

Assam Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, who is the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)'s in-charge of Tripura elections, said the BJP's central parliamentary board meeting would be held in New Delhi on Saturday evening and the parties' candidates for the three election-bound northeastern states -- Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland -- would be finalised.

"The names of the BJP nominees would be declared either on Saturday night or Sunday morning," said Sarma, a former Congress Minister who joined the BJP before the Assam assembly elections in 2016.

The ruling CPI-M-dominated Left Front on Tuesday released its list of candidates for the 60-seats featuring both old and new faces, and seven of the nominees being women.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp