Syed Ali Shah Geelani quits as Tehreek-e-Hurriyat party chairman but will continue to head Hurriyat

Kashmiri separatist leader Syed Ali Shah Geelani on Monday has resigned as the chairman of Tehreek-e-Hurriyat.

Published: 19th March 2018 02:37 PM  |   Last Updated: 19th March 2018 08:43 PM   |  A+A-

Syed Geelani. (File photo)

Express News Service

SRINAGAR: In a significant development, hardline separatist leader Syed Ali Geelani on Monday resigned as chairman of his party Tehreek-e-Hurriyat but would continue to head the faction of Hurriyat Conference, a conglomerate of separatist groups.

Geelani’s close aide Mohammad Ashraf Sehrai was appointed as the chairman of the Tehreek-e-Hurriyat (TeH).

A spokesman of TeH said a meeting of Majlis-e-Shoora (advisory body) of the organisation was held today during which Geelani announced to step down as party chairman.

Geelani, 88, cited his falling health and curbs on him by government as reason for resigning from the post of TeH’s chairman.

While addressing advisory body meeting of the party, Geelani said from last 8 years of continuous house arrest and restrictions by authorities on interactions with party colleagues has dented the functioning of the party.

“By merely holding a position without practical contribution is injustice not only with the post but the conscience as well. So today I willfully step-down from the chairmanship and advise the Shoora to arrange an alternative at the earliest,” he said.

The TeH spokesman said after Geelani’s resignation, it was unanimously decided by the participants to appoint Mohammad Ashraf Sehrai as interim chairman till fresh elections are held later this year.

Till now Sehrai, who is Geelani’s close aide and friend, was the general secretary of the party.

Geelani, who had recently claimed that he had turned down an offer by an Intelligence Bureau official of facilitating his dialogue with Government of India, had formed TeH in 2004 after having differences with his parent organisation, Jamaat-e-Islami and since 2004 he was heading the organisation.

Sehrai is also the founding member of TeH.

Geelani, however, would continue the chairman of the faction of Hurriyat Conference. The Geelani-led Hurriyat comprises at least 24 smaller parties.

The moderate separatist leader and cleric Mirwaiz Umar Farooq is chairman of another faction of Hurriyat Conference.

Geelani, Mirwaiz and JKLF chairman Mohammad Yasin Malik have forged united front under the banner of “Joint Resistance Leadership” after killing of Hizb commander Burhan Wani in an encounter with security forces on July 8, 2016.

The three leaders spearheaded over five month long unrest in Valley in 2016.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp