West Bengal government likely to reshuffle top police officers before Assembly polls

A state government official said Soumen Mitra may be named as the new commissioner of Kolkata Police and will replace Anuj Sharma who may be made the Addl DGP of state CID.

Published: 05th February 2021 09:27 PM  |   Last Updated: 05th February 2021 09:58 PM   |  A+A-

Police, Crime

Image used for representation


KOLKATA: With the assembly election round the corner, the West Bengal government is likely to name Soumen Mitra as the new commissioner of Kolkata Police, a state government official said on Friday.

He said that Mitra will replace Anuj Sharma who may be made the additional director general (Addl DGP) of the state CID. Siddh Nath Gupta, presently the ADG of state CID may be named as the Addl DGP (South Bengal).

The Election Commission had named Mitra as the commissioner of the city police during the 2016 assembly poll in the state replacing the then top cop Rajeev Kumar. The state poll is due in April-May.

The official said Jawed Shamim, who is Special Commissioner-I, Kolkata may take over as the next Addl DGP (Law and order) of the state, while Gyanwant Singh may be the Addl DGP (Armed Police). He said that changes are likely to be made in the rank of commissioners of police in the commissionerates of neighbouring Bidhannagar, Barrackpore and Howrah.

Supratim Sarkar, Addl Commissioner-II of Kolkata Police, may be named as the next police commissioner of Bidhannagar Police replacing Mukesh, while Ajay Kumar may be take up the top post in Barrackpore Police in place of Manoj Verma, the official said.

He said that C Sudhakar is likely to take charge as the chief of Howrah Police Commissionerate. "The necessary order for these postings will be issued very soon," the official added.

Follow The New Indian Express channel on WhatsApp


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp