Maha MLC polls: Thackeray calls for emergency meeting of MLAs, Raut trusts MLAs will return

I have heard that our MLAs are not being allowed to leave. But they will certainly return as all of them are dedicated to Sena. I trust that all our MLAs will return and everything will be fine: Raut

Published: 21st June 2022 11:29 AM  |   Last Updated: 21st June 2022 11:29 AM   |  A+A-

Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray

Maharashtra CM Uddhav Thackeray (File Photo | PTI)


MUMBAI: After suspected cross-voting in Maharashtra MLC elections, Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray has called an urgent meeting of all Shiv Sena MLAs on Tuesday.

According to sources, all MLAs have been strictly asked to remain present in the meeting. Meanwhile, Bal Thackeray loyalist Eknath Shinde will be addressing a press conference in Surat on Tuesday afternoon.

Meanwhile, Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut said, "Some MLAs of Shiv Sena and Eknath Shinde are currently not reachable. Efforts are being made to topple the MVA government but BJP has to remember that Maharashtra is very different from Rajasthan or Madhya Pradesh."

ALSO READ | Thackery govt in trouble: Minister Shinde in Gujrat hotel along with 20 Sena MLAs

"I have heard that our MLAs are in Surat, Gujarat and they are not being allowed to leave. But they will certainly return as all of them are dedicated to Shiv Sena. I trust that all our MLAs will return and everything will be fine," ANI quoted Raut as saying.

Maha Vikas Aghadi candidate from Congress Chandrakant Handore had lost in the MLS polls.

The BJP bagged five seats, the NCP and Shiv Sena won two each while Congress was able to clinch one seat out of the total 10 seats in MLC that went to polls on Monday.

Taking to Twitter, BJP leader Kirit Somaiya said, "Maharashtra Vidhan Parishad election results - Shiv Sena (Mafia Sena) got 52 votes. 12 MLA's revolted (55 Shiv Sena + 9 supporters = 64) Uddhav Thackeray's Mafia Sarkar's count down started."

As many as eleven candidates were in the fray for the elections to the ten seats in the MLC. All the five candidates of the BJP -- Pravin Darekar, Ram Shinde, Shrikant Bharatiya, Uma Khapre and Prasad Lad emerged victorious. NCP candidates-- Ramraje Nimbalkar and Eknath Khadse-- and the Shiv Sena nominees- Aamshya Padavi and Sachin Ahir also secured their seats. Of the two candidates fielded by Congress, Bhai Jagtap secured the win while Chandrakant Handore lost.

ALSO READ | Major humiliating defeat of Congress candidate in MLC elections

BJP's winning candidate claimed that cross-voting happened among members of Shiv Sena and Congress.

"We are very happy. Maharashtra has shown faith in the BJP. Cross-voting happened among members of Shiv Sena and Congress. Otherwise, we would not have received so many votes. BJP will get more victory and received 134 votes," said BJP leader Pravin Darekar.

He further said that independent MLAs have shown their dissatisfaction with the state government.

"We got 134 votes and this is the answer to all those who questioned what Devendra Fadnavis can do? Devendra Fadnavis is the only leader who can lead, which all the three parties could not do. Devendra has done it, the government cannot do anything and dissatisfaction has been shown against the government, independent MLAs have shown their dissatisfaction against the state government. We have proved this in the poll result," he said.

Congress leader Sanjay Nirupam had pointed out that Handore was lost due to "internal sabotage".

"It is really unfortunate that a Dalit candidate Chandrakant Handore who was supposed to get first preference votes of Congress MLAs lost to the second preference candidate of the Congress party. It is nothing but internal sabotage. My sympathy is with Handore," he said in a tweet.

BJP general secretary (organisation) BL Santhosh had said that his party has 106 MLAs in Assembly and it has received 133 votes.

ALSO READ | MLC elections: Thackeray govt in danger zone, BJP gets 134 votes 

"Maharashtra Council Polls: Shiv Sena-MLAs in Assembly: 56, Votes received: 52; NCP- MLAs in Assembly: 53, Votes received: 57; Congress- MLAs in Assembly: 44, Votes received: 41; BJP- MLAs in Assembly: 106, Votes received: 133," he tweeted.

He further took a dig at Congress and said, "Even in defeat, Congress exhibits its true colours. Its moneybag candidate Bhai Jagtap poaches party votes to defeat a Dalit leader from party Chandrakant Handore. Old habits die hard."

The Members of the Assembly voted in the legislative Council elections at Vidhan Bhawan in Mumbai on Monday.

The BJP has 106 MLAs, Shiv Sena 56, NCP 53 and Congress has 44 MLAs. A total of 285 members cast their votes in the MLC polls.

Former Home Ministers Anil Deshmukh and Nawab Malik, who are in judicial custody in money-laundering cases were not allowed to vote.

India Matters


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp