Maharashtra crisis: Rebel Shiv Sena MLA Eknath Shinde moves SC against disqualification notice

There was action in the Maharashtra Raj Bhavan as well, with Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari getting discharged from hospital after recovering from Covid.

Published: 26th June 2022 08:35 PM  |   Last Updated: 27th June 2022 07:43 AM   |  A+A-

Shiv Sena leader Eknath Shinde

Shiv Sena leader Eknath Shinde (File photo| PTI)

Express News Service

MUMBAI:  The ongoing power struggle in Maharashtra went up a notch on Sunday with the rebel Shiv Sena MLAs moving the Supreme Court against a disqualification notice issued to 16 of them, including Eknath Shinde, by the deputy speaker. 

A vacation bench of justices Surya Kant and J B Pardiwala will hear the writ petitions on Monday. The deputy speaker had given the rebels time till 5.30 pm on Monday to submit their response in writing. 
In all, two writ petitions have been filed by the rebels in the SC. Shiv Sena boss and Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray will be represented by senior advocates Kapil Sibal and Abhishek Singhvi in the SC.

There was action in the Maharashtra Raj Bhavan as well, with Governor Bhagat Singh Koshyari getting discharged from hospital after recovering from Covid. Shortly thereafter, he ordered security cover for all rebels and their families. Parallelly, the Centre granted Y-plus CRPF security to 15 rebel Sena MLAs and their families following a recommendation by central security agencies to the Ministry of Home Affairs. 

As for the Sena, it kept up its tough talk amid further desertion. Higher education minister Uday Samant became the eighth minister to defect to the dissident camp. He did so after attending the party’s national executive meeting addressed by Uddhav on Saturday. “We will never forget these traitors,” Uddhav’s son Aditya warned.

The eight rebel Sena ministers are Eknath Shinde, Gulabrao Patil, Dada Bhuse, Sandeepan Bhumare, Shambhuraje Desai, Abdul Sattar, Uday Samant and Bacchu Kadu. Another minister Bachu Kadu of Prahar Janshakti Party and an Independent minister from Sena quota, Rajendra Yedravkar, are with Shinde.
Aditya is the lone Sena MLA minister left in the ruling Aghadi. He said about 15-16 MLAs in the rebel camp were in contact with the parent party. “If they return, they would get a warm welcome,” he added. 


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp