Vellore bag overall Championship

Published: 27th November 2012 01:08 PM  |   Last Updated: 27th November 2012 01:08 PM   |  A+A-

With a haul of five gold medals, Vellore emerged overall champions in the Tamil Nadu Senior Weightlifting Championship  at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in the city. While S Balamurugan (56kg), A Aswin Kumar (69kg), P Prakash (85kg), N Mohana Sundaram  (94kg) bagged gold in the men’s categories, S Saratha (90kg) managed the same in the women’s segments to help manage Vellore with the best  gold-medal tally. They also eked out as many silver and three bronze.

Results (men): 56kg: S Balamurugan (Vellore) 223kg, M Rajan (Thiruvallur) 216kg, R Solomon (Thiruvallur) 202kg; 62kg: M Antony Raj  (Tuticorn)  251kg, K Selvakumar (Thiruvallur) 243kg, M Anandan (Vellore) 238kg; 69kg: A Aswin Kumar (Vellore) 247kg, P Raja  (Tiruvannamalai) 240 kg, V Karthik (Thiruvallur) 233kg; 77kg: S Sebastian Joseph (Chennai) 280kg, P Natesan (Vellore) 270kg, J Srinivasan  (Vellore) 257kg; 85kg: P Prakash (Vellore) 273kg, M Regi (Kanyakumari) 264kg, N Ezhumalai (Tiruvannamalai) 252kg; 94kg: N Mohana  Sundaram (Vellore) 268kg, V Suresh Kumar (Tiruvannamalai) 253kg, T Loganathan (Pudukottai) 239kg; 105kg: M Elavarasan  (Tiruvannamalai) 230kg, Vignesh (Chennai) 209kg, AP Koteswaran (Salem) 207kg; +105kg: P Manoj Prabhakar (Tanjore) 246kg, GP Ganesh  Kumar 225kg.   Women: 48kg: D Kalpana (Pudukottai) 122kg, K Vijayalakshmi (Vellore) 105kg, H Koteeswari (Vellore) 94kg; 53kg: S Saratha (Vellore) 90kg, K  Anjali (Vellore) 77kg, K Bharathi (Salem) 74kg; 58kg: E Oviya (Chennai) 140kg, P Viji (Tiruvarur) 77kg; 63kg: S Dharani (Thanjavur) 126kg,  Kadeeja Begum (Salem) 110kg, R Chandra (Tiruvarur) 88kg; 69kg: P Anuradha (Pudukottai) 164kg, R Janaki (Vellore) 100kg, S Jayabharathi (Chennai) 74kg; 76kg: A Annai (Tiruvarur) 96kg, D Yamini (Chennai) 86kg, J Mohana (Salem) 85kg; +75kg: A Anbarasi (Salem) 110kg, D  Agaliya (Vellore) 85kg, K Krishna Veni (Chennai) 85kg.

Akshay scalps five

S Akshay Kumar scored 42 runs and took five wickets to help Budding Stars Cricket Academy thrash AVM Cricket Academy by 132 runs in the  Skylab CAC U-14 Winter Cricket Tournament held at the tube Products Cricket Ground.

Brief scores:  Budding Stars Cricket Academy 150-7 in 25 overs ( S Akshay Kumar 42, D Prashanth Prabhu 45) bt AVM Cricket Academy 18 all out in 12.4 overs (S Akshay Kumar 5-4, Prem Vinayak 3-2).

MAS CA 147-2 in 25 Overs (S Kishan Kumar 57, S Kishore Kumar 25) bt Chennai Stars CA 87 in 24.4 Overs (Joel Roshan 44, S Kishore Kumar 3- 10).

AVM CA 77-8 in 25 Overs (Dhiraj Rathore 21, N Harish 3-5) lost to Stumped CF 78-3 in 17 Overs (V Dinesh Kumar 39 no).

Stumped CF 110-7 in 25 Overs (V P Amith 20, V Dinesh Kumar 48) lost to MAS CA 111-3 in 24.3 Overs (S Kishan Kumar 30, Sunil Rithik 26, S  Kishore Kumar 21 no)

Chennai Stars CA 108-5 in 25 Overs (Aryan Das Gupta 50) lost to Skylab CA ‘B’ 109- 2 in 21.5 overs (S P Jayanth 45 no).

AS CA 125-9 in 25 Overs (Gowtham Eswar B 28, Dattatreya V 26 , V Aakash 4-24) bt Kingstar Ca 78 in 21.5 Overs (Sunitl Rithik S 4-11, S Kishan  Kumar 3-11).


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp