Paddler Navneeth bags title in Tamil Nadu table tennis meet

Prabhu’s 4/34 enabled RR Donnelly to overcome Ashok Leyland by five wickets in the GR Kuppuswamy Memorial tournament.

Published: 24th June 2019 08:35 AM  |   Last Updated: 24th June 2019 08:35 AM   |  A+A-

Winners in various categories at the RRS 3rd state ranking table tennis tournament

Winners in various categories at the RRS 3rd state ranking table tennis tournament

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: Navneeth Kutty of Schram beat CM Mithreshwar of Vinwin 11-9,11-7, 11-7, 9-11,11-8 in the sub-junior boy’s final of the RRS 3rd state ranking table tennis meet. In the girl’s section, VS Nehal of SDAT-MDU beat Catherine Tina 11-6, 11-8, 5-11, 9-11,11-9, 18-16.

Results: (all finals): Boys: Sub-junior: Navneeth Kutty (Schram) bt CM Mithreshwar (Vinwin) 11-9, 11-7, 11-7, 9-11, 11-8. Cadet: PB Abhinandh (Ch Ach) bt A Vishal (KTTC) 11-5, 11-7, 11-3. Mini Cadet: Vishruth (Mst) bt  Jishnu Balaji (Mdu) 11-0, 11-07, 11-04. Girls: Sub-junior: VS Nehal (SDAT-MDU) bt Catherine Tina 11-6, 11-8, 5-11, 9-11, 11-9, 18-16. Cadet: N Sharvani (LTTA) bt Hanshini (Mst) 12-10, 11-7, 8-11,12-10. Mini Cadet: Bhuvanitha (SDAT-MDU) bt M Ananya (Ch Ach) 8-11, 11-9, 11-5, 9-11, 11-7.

Thiruvallur enter semis

P Arjun Thapa’s 58 helped Thiruvallur bag a lead of 147 runs in the drawn quarterfinal match of the TNCA inter-district U-16 tournament. Thiruvallur won by first innings lead.

Brief scores: Kancheepuram 71 in 45.3 ovs drew with Thiruvallur 218 in 85.2 ovs (S Karan 38, P Arjun Thapa 58; Sanjay Vembu 4/64, S Sachin 3/66). Krishnagiri 177 in 77.4 ovs drew with Vellore 154 in 83.4 ovs (U Hari Krishna 30, V Hari Raghavendra 34; DB Krupanandha 4/45, B Neelesh 6/54).

Prabhu takes four wickets

Prabhu’s 4/34 enabled RR Donnelly to overcome Ashok Leyland by five wickets in the GR Kuppuswamy Memorial tournament. Brief scores: Apollo Tyres 179 in 30 ovs (S.Pradeep 47, Praanesh 46, Ajeesh 5/46) bt Servion Global Solutions 106 in 28.1 ovs (Vinoth 3/11). Ashok Leyland 74 in 18.3 ovs (Praveen 32, Prabhu 4/34) lost to RR Donnelly 76/5 in 11.2 ovs (Ravi 3/26).

Kumar guides Gems to win

Kumar’s unbeaten 58 came in handy for Royal Gems to beat Adambakkam CC by eight  wickets in the semifinals of the Seshadri Memorial trophy.
Semifinals: Adambakkam CC 140/5 in 20 ovs (AC Pradeepan 45) lost to Royal Gems CC 142/2 in 16.4 ovs (Kumar 58 n.o).

Cricket coaching for children

India’s ace spinner R Ashwin-mentored Gen Next Cricket Institute has tied up with Lalaji Memorial Omega International School, Kolapakkam to provide coaching for children. Coaching starts from July 8. To enroll, contact: 9841784061; 9884017371.

Easy victory for Awal

Adhirit Awal of Tamil Nadu defeated Rithik Dinesh 6-0, 6-0 in the boy’s final qualifying round of the TNTA national series sub-junior tennis tournament. In another match, Nithik Sivakumar got the better of Jason Mathew 7-5, 6-1. 

Boys: (final qualifying round): Adhirit Awal (TN) bt Rithik  Dinesh (TN) 6-0, 6-0; Nithik Sivakumar (TN) bt Jason Mathew (TN) 7-5, 6-1; Harikrishnan KS (TN) bt Saravanan Arjith (TN) 6-2, 6-3; Kevin Titus (TN) bt Parikshat Singh Dalpatia (TN) 6-2, 6-1; Kannan Govind (TN) bt Akshith Balasubramanian (TN) 6-3, 6-2.

Volleyball tournament

Nellai Friends Volleyball Club and Dr Sivanthi Club will conduct the 46th P John Memorial All-India volleyball tournament from June 24 to 30 at Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium, Egmore. Matches will be played under a league-cum-knockout basis. The total prize money is Rs 5 lakh.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp