Khelo India: Delhi bag 2 gold; Tamil Nadu assured of 5 squash medals

Odisha beat Tamil Nadu 6-1 in the hockey match on Sunday; Judokas in action at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium.
Odisha beat Tamil Nadu 6-1 in the hockey match on Sunday; Judokas in action at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium. (Photo | Ashwin Prasath, EPS)

CHENNAI: Hosts Tamil Nadu and Delhi clinched two gold medals each while Punjab, Gujarat, Chandigarh and Manipur added one each to their tally at the Khelo India Youth Games here on Sunday.

Navyaa SH clinched the day’s first gold in women’s traditional yoga and fencer Arlin AV bagged the men’s Sabre gold defeating Haryana’s Lakshya Badser 15-14 to take Tamil Nadu’s tally to four gold and two bronze. Delhi jumped to the second spot in the medals tally after their judokas clinched two of the five gold medals on offer and bagged two silver medals at the Jawaharlal Nehru Indoor Stadium.

In Judo, Delhi’s Tannu Mann defeated Jaanvi Yadav to clinch the women’s 48kg gold while Anurag Sagar (55kg) beat Punjab’s Nakul Arora. Deeksha bagged the silver in the women’s 44 kg category after losing to Ankita N of Gujarat. Chandigarh’s Sapna (women’s 40kg) and Punjab’s Shivansh Vashisht (men’s 50kg) clinched the other gold medals on offer.

Earlier in the day, Tamil Nadu’s Navyaa SH added the second gold from Yogasana with a total score of 64.75. West Bengal’s Aranya Hutait (64.42 points) and Ritu Mondal (63.5 points) clinched the silver and bronze, respectively. In the fencing competition held at TNPESU, Manipur’s K Abhinash defeated Tejas Patil of Maharashtra 15-9 in the men’s Foil final. Defending men’s champion Haryana set up a summit clash against Rajasthan with a facile 45-28 victory over Maharashtra in Kabaddi.

In the Squash men’s quarterfinals, Tavneet Singh Mundra from Madhya Pradesh defeated Ansh Tripathi 11-8, 11-6, 11-6. Sandhesh PR of Tamil Nadu won Meyyappan L 11-9, 11-9, 11-5. Arihant KS overcame Karan Yadav from Uttar Pradesh, finishing 11-9, 4-11, 11-2, 11-8. In a gripping encounter, Avalokit Singh from Rajasthan went down to Aryan Pratap Singh from Uttar Pradesh 12-14, 14-12, 5-11, 11-8, 9-11. In the women’s quarterfinals, Pooja Arthi overcame Yashi Jain of Rajasthan 11-4, 11-4, 11-6. The team events will commence on Monday.

Results: Squash (Quarterfinals): Singles: Men: Tavneet Singh Mundra (MP) bt Ansh Tripathi (UP) 11-8, 11-6, 11-6; Sandhesh PR (TN) bt L Meyyappan (TN) 11-9, 11-9, 11-5; Arihant KS (TN) bt Karan Yadav (UP) 11-9, 4-11, 11-2, 11-8; Aryan Pratap Singh (UP) bt Avalokit Singh (RJ) 14-12, 12-14, 11-5, 8-11, 11-9; Women: Pooja Arthi R (TN) bt Yashi Jain (RJ) 11-4, 11-4, 11-6; Deepika V (TN) bt Chhavi Saran (RJ) 11-5, 11-6, 11-9; Shameena Riaz (TN) bt Khushboo (UP) 11-2, 11-0, 11-4; Nirupama Dubey (MH) bt Unnati Tripathi (UP) 14-12, 5-11, 12-10, 14-16, 11-9; Basketball: Women: Group A: Uttar Pradesh bt Mizoram 109-52; Group B: Rajasthan bt Chandigarh 76-74; Tamil Nadu bt Karnataka 99-72; Women: Group A: Maharashtra bt Kerala 81-54; Tamil Nadu bt Chandigarh 109-45; Group B: Punjab bt Uttar Pradesh 88-25;Fencing: Men: Sabre: Gold medal match: Arlin AV (TN) bt Lakshya Badser (HR) 15-14; Bronze: Abhishek (HR), Shirish Angal (MH); Foil: K Abhinash (MN) bt Tejas Patil (MH) 15-9; Bronze: Sachin (HR), Rohan Shah (MH); Judo: Women: 40kg: Gold: Sapna (CHG), Silver: Sommya Rani Kadapala (AP), Bronze: Kritika Soni (HP), Neelam (UK); 44kg: Gold: Ankita N (GJ), Silver: Deeksha (DL); Bronze: Roshivina M (Man), Yuvika Tokas (DL); 48kg: Gold: Tannu Mann (DL), Silver: Jaanvi Yadav (DL), Bronze: Bhakti Bhosale (MH), Nancy (HR); Women: 50kg: Gold: Shivansh Vashisht (PB), Silver: Mohit Moolya (MH), Bronze: Rickson Debbarma (TRI), Tang Tada (ARP); 55kg: Gold: Anurag Sagar (DL), Silver: Nakul Arora (PB), Bronze: Om Sameer H (MH), Yohenba Y (MN); Hockey: Women: Group A: Chhattisgarh bt Tamil Nadu 6-0; Madhya Pradesh bt Mizoram 4-2; Group B: Odisha bt Jharkhand 5-1; Haryana bt Punjab 10-0; Men: Group A: Odisha bt Tamil Nadu 6-1, Madhya Pradesh bt Punjab 3-2; Kabaddi: semifinals: Men: Rajasthan bt Tamil Nadu 41-23; Haryana bt Maharashtra 45-28; Yogasana: Women: Traditional: Gold: Navyaa SH (TN) 64.75 points; Silver: Aranya Hutait (WB) 64.42; Bronze: Ritu Mondal (WB) 63.5.

Related Stories

No stories found.
The New Indian Express