2019 Lok Sabha Exit polls: YSRC landslide victory predicted as hope floats for TDP

While most have predicted a YSRC sweep in both the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections, exit polls by Today’s Chanakya, C-Voter-Republic TV, and Lagadapati Raja Gopal favoured ruling TDP.

Published: 20th May 2019 12:55 AM  |   Last Updated: 20th May 2019 12:55 AM   |  A+A-

Chandrababu Naidu, Jagan Mohan Reddy

YSRC supremo Jagan Mohan Reddy and Andhra Pradesh CM Chandrababu Naidu (R) (File photo | EPS)

By Express News Service

VIJAYAWADA: YS Jagan Mohan Reddy’s YSR Congress (YSRC) appears headed for a landslide victory in Andhra Pradesh, if one were to go by exit polls released after conclusion of the seventh and final phase of the Lok Sabha elections on Sunday evening. Intriguingly, while most have predicted a YSRC sweep in both the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections, exit polls by Today’s Chanakya, C-Voter-Republic TV, and RG-Flash of former MP Lagadapati Raja Gopal favoured N Chandrababu Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party (TDP) holding out hope for the yellow party and suggesting that the results might go down to the wire.

Elections for 25 Lok Sabha and 175 Assembly seats were held simultaneously in the State on April 11. India Today-Axis and the Hyderabad-based CPS gave YSRC 130-135 and 130-133 Assembly seats respectively. Both claimed TDP would be restricted to 37-40 and 43-44 seats respectively. According to another Hyderabad-based agency, Aaraa, YSRC may win 117-135 segments and the TDP 38-56. Aaraa, much like the CPS, came up with a more or less accurate survey after last year's polls in Telangana. Its survey says YSRC would up its vote percentage to 48.78 per cent while the TDP’s could be down to 40.15 per cent. Film actor Pawan Kalyan’s Jana Sena is likely to get 0-2 Assembly seats, as per India Today-Axis exit polls. Aaraa gave Jana Sena vote share of 7.81 per cent, suggesting Pawan’s party ate into the TDP’s vote share this time around. In 2014, the TDP had won 102 Assembly seats and the YSRC 67 but the difference in vote share between them was marginal with the TDP-BJP alliance (with Pawan's support) securing 46.69 per cent and the YSRC 45.01 per cent.


As far as the Parliamentary exit polls are concerned, Times Now- VMR gave YSRC 17 seats and the TDP 8. Similarly, India Today-Axis predicted 18-20 seats to YSRC and 4-6 to TDP. Interestingly, Today’s Chanakya, gave TDP a massive 14-20 seats. YSRC, according to Today’s Chanakya, is expected to get 5 to 11 Lok Sabha seats. C-Voter-Republic TV too gave an edge to Naidu’s party with 14 seats over 11 for YSRC. Jan Ki Baat-Republic TV, however, claimed YSRC could win 13-16 Lok Sabha seats and the TDP 8-12. News18-IPSoS survey too said the battle between the two parties could be neck-and-neck predicting 13-14 seats for YSRC and 10-12 for TDP. Interestingly, it claimed the BJP could win a seat in Andhra -- something unthinkable. NDTV's poll of polls gave the YSRC 15 Lok Sabha seats and 10 to the TDP. NewsX-Neta, on the other hand, gave a whopping 20 seats to the YSRC and five to the TDP.

Out of the 175 Assembly segments in the State, most exit polls gave YSRC over 110 seats. However, the controversial Lagadapati Raja Gopal’s RG-Flash said the TDP would form the government with 90-110 seats. The former Congress MP, whose prediction in Telangana Assembly elections last year proved wrong, said the YSRC would manage to clinch 65-79 seats. In 2014 too, most of the exit polls favoured the YSRC. However, finally, the TDP, supported by Pawan Kalyan’s Jana Sena and the BJP, won 102 seats.


  YSRC TDP Jana Sena
India Today 130-135 37-40 0-1
CPS 130-133 43-44 0-1
Lagadapati Raja Gopal 90-110 65- 79 1-5
INews 110-120 55-62 0-3
VDPAssociates 111-121 54-60 0-4
People's Pulse 112 59 4
Aaraa 117-135 38-56 2

As the exit polls poured in, TDP leaders put up a brave face. TDP senior leader Somireddy Chandramohan Reddy told TNIE that several surveys gave predictions in favour of the TDP. "I strongly believe that schemes like Pasupu Kumkuma (financial benefit to self-help groups), enhancement of social pensions and Annadata Sukhibhava (financial aid to farmers) will give us the mandate as there are more than one lakh such beneficiaries in every Assembly constituency," he said, adding that party chief Naidu had advised them not to believe in the exit polls as "most of the national channels and nation-wide survey agencies are caught in the trap of BJP and Modi."

The YSRC, meanwhile, was jubilant. Speaking to TNIE, former MP and senior leader YV Subba Reddy said exit polls reflected what they had been saying for months before the polls and also after the polls. "People have decided to throw the TDP government in the Bay of Bengal as Chandrababu Naidu failed on all fronts. Though he conjured up a few tricks like distributing money to women under the Pasupu Kumkuma scheme just before the elections, people understood his true colours and decided to kick him out,'' he said.


  YSRC TDP   NDA Jana Sena Others
Times Now- VMR 18 7     0
India Today 18-20 4-6     0-1
News18-IPSoS 13-14 10-12 0-1    
VDPAssociates 21 4   0  
Today's Chanakya 5-11 14-20     Nil
Lagadapati Raja Gopal 8-12 13-17     1
Cvoter-Republic TV 11 14      
Jan Ki Baat- Republic TV 13-16 8-12 0-1    
Aaraa 20-24 1-5      

He added that YSRC chief YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, who covered about 3641 km during his padayatra instilled confidence among the people promising proper implementation of welfare schemes, and good policies for education, and healthcare. "He touched the hearts of the people and interacted with 1.25 crore people. We are sure we will win 125-135 Assembly and 20-22 MP seats,'' Subba Reddy asserted.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp