Hat-trick win for LDF in Kollam Corporation

KOLLAM: The winning streak of the LDF in the Kollam Corporation is going unchallenged for the third consecutive term ever since the formation of the corporation in year 2000.   Cros

Published: 28th October 2010 06:53 AM  |   Last Updated: 16th May 2012 05:14 PM   |  A+A-

KOLLAM: The winning streak of the LDF in the Kollam Corporation is going unchallenged for the third consecutive term ever since the formation of the corporation in year 2000.

  Crossing over the challenges of the anti-incumbency factor the  LDF bandwagon trundled ahead with a  prestigious victory with  winning 34 of the 55 seats in the corporation and retaining  power for the third time.

   The UDF has won 19 seats while one Congress rebel and a PDP candidate came out triumphant.

In the LDF, CPM is leading the front with winning 20 seats including a CPM backed independent.

CPI and RSP won 7 seats each.

 In the UDF coalition, Congress party has won 16 seats while the constituent partners IUML, RSP(B) and JSS won one seat each.

 The major winners include Mayor V Rajendrababbu, S Sulafa, standing committee chairpersons Prasanna Earnest, M Noushad ( all CPM) and Vimala Philip, George D Kattil  and Dr. Udaya Sukumaran  (all Congress).

Former mayor Sabitha Beegam of the CPM was defeated at Kureepuzha. She was defeated by Maya Gopikrishnan of the Congress by a margin of  nine votes.  Congress rebel G Satheesh Kumar won  from Palakkadavu division by defeating the  LDF candidate A Biju of the CPI.  UDF candidate Kallumthazham Shihabudeen was third.

PDP candidate M Kamaludeen  got elected from  Kootikkada division  defeating Noushad of CPI. Here the UDF candidate Noushad Mohammad Salim of the IUML came a poor fourth.

One of the major victories fo the ruling LDF was that of   standing committee chairperson Prasanna Earnest who defeated Nayana Ganga of the Congress at the Thamarakulam division with a margin of 310 votes.

Mayor V.Rajendrababu  won with a margin of 293 votes from the Punnammoodu division defeating Sureshbabu of the Congress.

Karumalil Dr.Udaya sukumaran of the Congress won from Punnathala with a margin of 470 votes by defeating her LDF rival G Gopakumar.

Vimala Philip of the Congress won with a margin of 69 votes from Kannimel defeating C Sudharama of the CPM.

 From Akkolil division B.Vasantha kumari ( CPM )won  by a margin of  260 votes defeating Rsohni  of the Congress .

Alphonse Philip of the Congress won from Maruthadi defeating Xavier Mathias by a margin of 125 votes.  S.Meena kumari of RSP won from Sakthikulangara defeating Geeta jayachandra babu of Congress .  

In the Meenacheri division, Stanley Vincent (RSP B)  defeated Francis Lazar of the CPM. At Kavanad G.Murali babu of the Congress came out victorious.

Jayan S.of CPM emerged victor in the Vallikkeezhu division with a margin of 1127 votes defeating the Independent candidate Makkattu Unni. D.Jayachandran of the UDF came fourth here.

In the Mulankadakam division Maya Ganesh of Congress  defeated Bindu S.of CPM with a margin of 747 votes. At Thevally K.Gopinath of RSP won with a margin of 27 votes defeating K.Dinesh kumar of Congress.  

At Vadakkumbhagam division, CPI candidate Honey defeated Annamma of CMP by a margin of 362 votes. P.Sreekumari of RSP defeated Anitha of CMP at Ashramam by a margin of 10 votes.  Uliyakovil Sasi won from Uliyakovil with a margin of 406 votes defeating A.Mohan bose of Congress.

Other winners and    their party and division  in bracket.

S.Jayasree (Kadappakkada, CPI) , G.Lalu( Mangadu,CPI), Manju, S (Arunoottimangalam,CPM), Leelamma (Chathinamkulam, RSP), Suja Krishnan (Karikode, CPM), Ajitha .G (CPM,College), Geetakumari,(CPM,Palkulangara), Lailakumari(Kilikollur,Congress), S.Bindu(Punthalathazham,Congress), Prasanna Vijayan, (Mulluvila, CPI), S.R.Bindu.(Palathara,Congress), Nazeema Shihab (manakkadu, CPM), Majida Vahab(Kayyalakkal, IUML), T.Chithra(Valathungal, CPM), Binu M.J(Thekkumbhagam,RSP),S.Ashok kumar(CPM,Eravipuram), Hamsathu beevi(Kollurviala, Congress), N.Noushad (RSP,Pallimukku), M.Noushad(Ayathil, CPM), Prem Ushar(JSS, Amman nada),P.K.Lakshmikutty(CPI,Vadakkevila), Sindu L.(Congress, pattathanam),Hemachandrabanu(CPI,Bharanikkavu), K.P.Sajinath(CPM, Thekkevila ),R.Prasanna kumar(CPM,Mundakkal), Santhini Subhadevan(Congress, udayamarthandapuram), C.V.Anilkumar( Congress, cantonment), N.Tomy (CPI, pallithottam),R.Robin(CPM, kaikulangara)  G.Ananthan(CPM,Kacheri), J.Stanley(CPM,Thankasseri), Rekha Unnikrishnan(CPM Independent , Thirumullavaram),N.Janardhanan(CPM,Ramankulamngara),Mini Hari kumar(RSP,Vattakkayal).


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp