Akademi fellowships for Anand, T Padmanabhan

Published: 13th July 2012 12:50 PM  |   Last Updated: 13th July 2012 12:50 PM   |  A+A-

Kerala Sahitya Akademi fellowships. Akademi president Perumbadavam Sreedharan announced the fellowships and the life-time achievement awards at a press meet held at the Kerala Sahitya Akademi, here on Thursday.

Anand was selected for the fellowship considering his contributions to the field of novel writing, while T Padmanabhan has been selected considering his contributions to the field of short stories, he said.

Taking note of their comprehensive contributions to the literary field, writers Chathanath Achuthanunni, P T Chacko, K B Sreedevi and Joseph Vytilla have been selected for the life-time achievement awards, said Sreedharan.

“The fellowship carries a cash award of `50,000, a gold medal weighing two sovereigns, a plaque and a citation, while the life-time achievement award consists of a cash prize of `30,000, a citation and a plaque,” he said.

Akademi Secretary R Gopalakrishnan, vice-president Balachandran Vadakkedathu, writers P K Parakadavu, Sathyajithu, Harikumar, Ragunathan and Jothishkumar were also present at the press meet.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp