Crime Branch reloaded amid smoke and fire

As per the GO, the re-designated SPs should assume charges with immediate effect to ensure the smooth functioning of the CB offices from November 1. 

Published: 25th October 2018 10:59 AM  |   Last Updated: 25th October 2018 10:59 AM   |  A+A-

Kerala police chief Loknath Behera (File photo)

Express News Service

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Keeping in view the changing crime trends and to equip the Crime Branch to tackle the new-age crimes and bring professionalism into the force, it has been restructured by reshuffling 16 Crime Branch SPs. However, the reshuffle list issued by State Police Chief Loknath Behera could raise many eyebrows with regards to the posting of some officers in critical posts. 

As per the government order, the existing posts of SPs of various units under Crime Branch-Crime Investigation Department (CBCID) viz Hurt and Homicide Wing (HHW), Economic Offences Wing (EOW), Organised Crime Wing (OCW), Anti-Piracy Cell, Stats, Internal Security Investigation Team (ISIT ) are reorganised into districts and central units and the posts of SPs are re-designated. 

The highlight of the restructuring is the creation of four central units (CU-I, CU-II, CU-III, CU-IV), which will handle complicated and sensitive cases and the cases pertaining to the STATS, ISIT, and anti piracy wings will be handled by the central units, of which two units will be based in Thiruvananthapuram and one each in Ernakulam and Kozhikode. The three IGS in the CB-CID will be posted in Thiruvananthapuram, Ernakulam and Kozhikode. 

There will be 12 district Crime Branch field offices and Kollam, Kozhikode and Kannur SPs will have the additional charge of Pathanamthitta, Wayanad and Kasargod districts, respectively. The SPs will be in charge of HHW, EOW and OCW wings. Among the list of SPs issued by the state police chief, Abdul Rasheed, who was accused in a case related to attempt to murder journalist Unnithan, will handle the central unit (CU-IV), which handles the most sensitive cases along with other three CUs. 

Crime branch SP K S Sudarshan, who was member of the first SIT which probed the solar scam during the UDF Government’s tenure in Thrissur and later transferred by the LDF Government, will be back in Thrissur with the new order, while former Kottayam SP Mohammed Rafeeq, who was suspended for allegedly trying to hush up the Kevin murder case, and later moved to OCW Ernakulam, will be the Crime Branch SP of Ernakulam.  

Interestingly, Zacharia George, former Coastal Police AIG, was transferred to Idukki from Kottayam where he was posted hardly a week ago. Whereas, as per the reorganisation order issued by the Additional Chief Secretary (Home and Vigilance) Subrata Biswas, Ernakulam SP (OCW) was to be transferred to Idukki. As per the GO, the re-designated SPs should assume charges with immediate effect to ensure the smooth functioning of the CB offices from November 1. 


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp