Adoor Prakash breaches LDF’s Attingal fort

DF’s Adoor Prakash broke the coalition’s 30-year jinx as he wrested Attingal constituency from LDF’s A Sampath with a margin of 38,247 votes

Published: 24th May 2019 02:03 AM  |   Last Updated: 24th May 2019 02:03 AM   |  A+A-

A party worker garlanding Adoor Prakash, UDF candidate in the  Attingal LS seat, during campaigning at Varkala

A party worker garlanding Adoor Prakash. (Photo | Vincent Pulickal)

By Express News Service

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: DF’s Adoor Prakash broke the coalition’s 30-year jinx as he wrested Attingal constituency from LDF’s A Sampath with a margin of 38,247 votes. 

The last time the UDF won the constituency was in 1989 when Thalekunnil Basheer floored CPM’s Susheela Gopalan. Prakash polled 3,80,995 votes, while Sampath had to be content with 3,42,748 votes. NDA’s Shobha Surendran did make her presence felt as she garnered 2,48,081 votes, a sizeable increase from what the party’s candidate had polled last time (Girijakumari S had won a little above 90,000 votes).
The defeat came as a shock for Sampath, the sitting MP, who had earlier won thrice from here, the last two being in a trot. From the onset itself, Prakash maintained a steady lead and went ahead with his juggernaut which the LDF candidate failed to check.

Out of the seven Assembly constituencies, Prakash had a clear lead in all sans Nedumangadu which swayed in favour of the Left candidate with a slender lead of 759 votes. 
In 2014, Sampath had a convincing lead in all the seven Assembly segments against UDF’s Bindu Krishna. This time, the UDF wave was clearly palpable from the voting pattern in the Assembly segments. Ironically, six out of the seven Assembly seats are currently being held by the LDF. 
Prakash said his campaign touching upon the lack of developmental activities in the constituency struck a chord with the voters. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp