Draupadi Murmu Jharkhand Guv

Published: 13th May 2015 06:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 13th May 2015 04:19 AM   |  A+A-

BHUBANESWAR: Former BJP minister in Odisha Draupadi Murmu has been appointed as the Governor of Jharkhand. Murmu was elected to the State Assembly twice from Rairangpur Assembly constituency in Mayurbhanj district in 2000 and 2004 elections.

 Draupadi Murmu.jpgMurmu was Minister of State with independent charge for Commerce and Transport from March 6, 2000 to August 6, 2002 and Fisheries and Animal Resources Development from August 6, 2002 to May 16, 2004 during the BJP-BJD coalition government in Odisha.

 Dr Syed Ahmed, Governor of Jharkhand, has been transferred as Governor of Manipur for remainder of his term. Besides, former chief secretary of Assam J P Rajkhowa, senior BJP leader from West Bengal Tathagat Roy and V Shanmuganthan have been appointed as governors of Arunachal Pradesh, Tripura and Meghalaya respectively. Nirbhay Sharma, Governor of Arunachal Pradesh, has been shifted to Mizoram. 


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp