BJD fields Sabitri Agarwalla from Patkura for Odisha by-elections

Sabitri will face BJP veteran Bijoy Mohapatra from the seat.

Published: 30th April 2019 10:30 AM  |   Last Updated: 30th April 2019 10:30 AM   |  A+A-

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik with Sabitri Agarwalla at Naveen Niwas in Bhubaneswar on Monday

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik with Sabitri Agarwalla at Naveen Niwas in Bhubaneswar on Monday | Irfana

By Express News Service

BHUBANESWAR: The ruling BJD has decided to field Sabitri Agarwalla, wife of late Bed Prakash Agarwalla from the Patkura Assembly constituency. She will face BJP veteran Bijoy Mohapatra from the seat. Election to Patkura Assembly seat was postponed to May 19 following the death of Bed Prakash who had been fielded from the seat as BJD candidate. Announcement of Sabitri’s candidature from Patkura was made by Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik here on Monday.

Speculation was rife that the ruling party would field Bed Prakash’s son Sanjay from the seat to take on Mohapatra. According to ECI notification, the last day of filing of nomination papers is May 1. Verification of the nomination papers will be done on May 2 while the last date for withdrawal is May 4. Congress has renominated Jayanta Mohanty from the seat. Jayanta had lost to BJD candidate Bed Prakash by over 47,000 votes in the 2014 Assembly elections from the seat.

The BJD had won from the Assembly constituency in three consecutive terms - 2014, 2009 and 2004. While Bed Prakash was elected in 2014 and 2009, Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak won from the seat in 2004. Atanu, a former minister shifted to Mahakalapada Assembly seat from 2009 after the delimitation of constituencies in 2008.

Mohapatra had represented the seat for 20 years from 1980 to 2000 during which he was elected four times. Mohapatra was elected for the first time from the seat in 1980 by-poll on Janata Party (Secular) ticket. While he was elected on Janata Party ticket in 1985 elections, in 1990 and 1995 polls he won on Janata Dal ticket.

Mohapatra could not contest the 2000 Assembly elections as his BJD ticket was withdrawn hours before filing of nomination papers came to a close. However, Trilochan Behera, the All India Trinamool Congress candidate who was backed by Mohapatra won that election.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp