Puducherry bypoll results: CM V Narayanasamy wins by 11,151 votes

Narayanaswamy secured 18,709 votes to AIADMK's Om Sakthi Sekhar's 7565 votes, out of a total of 26564 votes polled.

Published: 22nd November 2016 08:58 AM  |   Last Updated: 22nd November 2016 01:12 PM   |  A+A-


Chief minister V Narayanasamy on a procession celebrating his victory in Nellithope by elections in Puducherry. | (G Pattabiraman | EPS)

By Express News Service

PUDUCHERRY: Puducherry Chief Minister V Narayanaswamy defeated his nearest rival Om Sakthi Sekhar of AIADMK by a margin of 11,144 votes in Nellithope byelection in Union territory of Puducherry, paving the way for his continuance as Chief Minister. 

Narayanaswamy , a non-elected member, who became the chief minister on June 6 was required to be elected as MLA within six months for continuance as chief minister.

Narayanaswamy secured 18,709 votes to Om Sakthi Sekhar's 7565 votes, out of a total of 26564 votes polled.

As the counting began Narayanaswamy established his lead which he consolidated in the next rounds to register the comprehensive win.

DMK Candidate in Tirupparakundram Dr.Saravanan came to the fore and gave first aid treatment to one of the independent candidate 'Election King' Padmarajan who sustained injuries. | Express Photo Service

However, Narayanaswamy's margin of victory is lower than the previous margin of victory of 12,141 votes secured by Congress candidate A John Kumar over Om Sakthi Sekar of AIADMK in May 2016 Assembly elections. 

Counting process commences for Tirupparakundram by-poll at Madurai government medical college, on Tuesday. | (K.K. Sundar | EPS)

Om Sakthi secured 6365 votes, which was lower than 7565 secured in the by-election.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp