AIADMK expells 44 members, continues to crack whip against TTV Dhinakaran supporters after RK Nagar bypoll loss

AIADMK coordinator O Panneerselvam and co-coordinator K Palaniswami announced "removing" 44 functionaries from the party's primary membership.

Published: 28th December 2017 02:20 PM  |   Last Updated: 29th December 2017 01:12 PM   |  A+A-

AIADMK under O Paneerselvam and Edappadi Palanisamy today expelled 44 members from party.

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: Days after expelling five key functionaries and stripping four disqualified MLAs of their party posts, the AIADMK top brass - Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami and Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam - on Thursday continued weeding out supporters of ousted deputy general secretary T T V Dhinakaran from the party.

Issuing three joint statements in a day, both leaders approved the expulsion of 44 district-level functionaries who are supporters of Dhinakaran. Two disqualified MLAs have been divested of their party posts.

On December 25, Palaniswami and Panneerselvam had asserted that the axe would fall on all those who had betrayed the party - from primary members to headquarters office-bearers. The 35 office-bearers belonging to Madurai rural district who were expelled from AIADMK on Thursday include R Sami, a former MLA of Melur constituency.  Nine functionaries from the districts  - Villupuram South, Dharmapuri, The Nilgiris, Tiruchy urban and Tiruchy rural, Perambalur, Thanjavur south, Madurai urban and Theni, including K David Annadurai, son of former Assembly Speaker K Kalimuthu, have also been expelled from the party.

E A Rathinasabapathy, MLA representing Arantangi Assembly constituency and functioning as Pudukottai district presidium chairman and R Balasubramanian, MLA representing Ambur constituency and functioning as Vellore West district Amma Peravai secretary have been stripped of their party posts.  Balasubramanian is one of the 18 MLAs who were disqualified on September 18.

Sasikala’s vow of silence
Just as the inquiry commission into the death of late CM J Jayalaltihaa has issued notice to V K Sasikala seeking her response within a fortnight, TTV Dhinakaran, her nephew who called on her at Parappana Agrahara Prison on Thursday, told mediapersons that she was observing a ‘mouna viratam since the death anniversary of Jayalalithaa on December 5. She is likely to continue to maintain silence till January-end. “I sought the blessings of my aunt after winning the RK Nagar by-election”

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp