EPS, OPS in first list of AIADMK candidates for Tamil Nadu Assembly elections

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami will contest from Edappadi constituency, while Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam will contest from Bodinaickanur

Published: 05th March 2021 02:44 PM  |   Last Updated: 05th March 2021 02:55 PM   |  A+A-

AIADMK leaders Edappadi K Palaniswami and O Panneerselvam come out of the party office after announcing the first list of candidates for the Assembly polls (Express Photo | Ashwin Prasath)

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: Taking the lead in announcing candidates for the upcoming Tamil Nadu Assembly elections, the ruling AIADMK has released its first list.

Here is the list of six candidates announced on Friday:

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami: Edappadi constituency

Deputy Chief Minister O Panneerselvam: Bodinaickanur

Fisheries Minister D Jayakumar: Royapuram

Law Minister CVe Shanmugam: Villupuram

SP Shanmuganathan: Srivaikuntam

S Thenmozhi: Nilakkottai (SC)

The election manifesto of the AIADMK is expected be released shortly. The DMK has said its candidates list will be released on March 10.

The filing of nominations for the Assembly elections begins on March 12 and ends on March 19.


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp