3 IISc Scientists Win National Science Academy Award

Published: 23rd December 2014 06:02 AM  |   Last Updated: 23rd December 2014 06:02 AM   |  A+A-

BENGALURU:The Indian National Science Academy (INSA) conferred the prestigious Young Scientist Medal on three scientists from the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bengaluru, while three others were inducted into the academy at a ceremony at the National Institute of Oceanography in Goa on Sunday.

This year, INSA president Raghavendra Gadagkar from the Centre for Ecological Sciences at IISc decided to have an open function for the awardees.

Since its inception in 1935, INSA has been handing out its accolades in ceremonies that were not open to the public. The INSA Young Scientist Medal is conferred on those below 35 years of age who show exceptional promise.

The award consists of a medal, a certificate and a cash prize of `25,000 along with a grant for them to kickstart their research.

The medal is “considered to be the highest recognition of promise, creativity and excellence in a young scientist,” according to the INSA website.

Of those from IISc, Soumya Das from the Department of Mathematics was awarded the Young Scientist Medal for his work in number theory.

Suryasarathi Bose from the Department of Materials Engineering received the award for his work in material development and characterisation and Santanu Mukherjee from the Department of Organic Chemistry for the development of novel methods for synthesising organic compounds.

The three other IISc scientists who were inducted into INSA are Paturu Kondiah from the Department of Molecular Reproduction, Development and Genetics for his work in tumour biology, Pradip Dutta from Department of Mechanical Engineering for work in thermal technologies and Srinivasan Sampath from the Department of Inorganic and Physical Chemistry for his work on materials chemistry, a press release from the IISc said.

Stay up to date on all the latest Bengaluru news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.