19 Railway Stations in State to Change to New Names

Published: 09th July 2015 03:19 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th July 2015 03:19 AM   |  A+A-

BENGALURU: The names of 19 railway stations in the state will have to be changed to their new names, as per a notification issued by the Indian Railway Conference Association, New Delhi.

The letter was issued on July 7 by the Secretary General of the Association, Sudhansu Jyoti Sinha, to the Chief Commercial Manager, South Western Railway, Hubballi.

The following will be the altered names of stations (old names in brackets):

Bengaluru Cantonment (Bangalore Cantonment); Bengaluru City Junction (Bangalore City Junction), Bengaluru East (Bangalore East), Ballari Cantonment (Bellary Cantonment), Ballari Junction (Bellary Junction), Vijayapura (Bijapur), Belagavi (Belgaum), Chikkamagaluru (Chikkamagalur), Mysuru (Mysore), Mysuru New Goods Terminal (Mysore New Goods Terminal), Hosapete D Cabin (Hospet D Cabin), Hosapete (Hospet), Shivamogga Bidare (Shimoga Bidare), Shivamogga H (Shimoga H), Shivamogga Town (Shimoga Town), Hubballi Junction (Hubli Junction), Hubballi Shops (Hubli Shops), Hubballi South (Hubli South) and Tumakuru (Tumkur).

Ghanshyam Verma, Deputy General Manager and Chief Public Relations Officer, South Western Railway told Express that the process of implementing the order has already begun. “It will take some time to change the display names on both sides of the station, on the official letterheads, on trains and on tickets. But the work has commenced,” he said.

Stay up to date on all the latest Bengaluru news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp