New Information Commissioners for TN

Governor K Rosaiah on Saturday appointed five new Information Commissioners for the State Information Commission - Dr V Saroja, Christopher Nelson, P Thamilselvan, B Neelambikai and S F Akbar.

Published: 02nd September 2012 10:28 AM  |   Last Updated: 02nd September 2012 10:28 AM   |  A+A-

 Governor K Rosaiah on Saturday appointed five new Information Commissioners for the State Information Commission - Dr V Saroja, Christopher Nelson, P Thamilselvan, B Neelambikai and S F Akbar. The appointment, however, is subject to the outcome of special leave petitions filed by two persons, C Manoharan and A Arumuga Nainar, still pending before the Supreme Court.

The selection committee, headed by Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa, held detailed discussions on August 31 and recommended five names to the Governor, which were accepted. The new commissioners will hold office for a term of five years from the date they report for duty or till they turn 65, whichever is earlier.

Dr V Saroja, born in Sangagiri in Salem district on January 20, 1975 is a Doctor of Medicine who had also completed  D.G.O., (Obst and Gynae). She had earlier represented the AIADMK in the Assembly as an MLA and as its member of Parliament in the 12th and 13th Lok Sabha.

Dr Saroja has authored a few books, including IQ of the New Born Baby and Each One Teach Five. She was a senate member of Annamalai University, member of the Tamil Nadu Women’s Commission, State Consumer Protection Council and the Tamil Nadu Committee on Prevention of Atrocities on SC/STs.

P Thamilselvan (59) is an advocate at the Madras High Court with 29 years of experience. He has held various posts, including legal advisor to Metrowater, member of the Bar Council of Tamil Nadu and Puducherry for two terms, Senate and Syndicate member of Dr Ambedkar Law University and City Public Prosecutor (in charge) in 2000.

Christopher Nelson (62), IPS (retd), hails from Nagercoil and is a postgraduate in Economics. He served in various capacities in the State police and retired in 2011. He was awarded with the President’s police medal for meritorious service in 1995. At present, he is a full-time member of the State Planning Commission.

S F Akbar, former District and Sessions Judge, hails from Tirunelveli. He served in various positions in the judiciary for the past 24 years, including Member Secretary of the Tamil Nadu State Legal Services Authority. He also served as a TADA judge; Chairman of the State Transport Appellate Tribunal; Principal District and Sessions Judge at Nagapattinam and Coimbatore districts; Registrar (Vigilance) of the Madras High Court; Director of the Tamil Nadu State Judicial Academy; and as Presiding Officer, Principal Labour Court.

B Neelambikai was a member of the Tamil Nadu Public Service Commission between 2004 and 2010.

Stay up to date on all the latest Chennai news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp