Yesudas, Son to Enthral Tripunithura

The 39th anniversary celebrations of Sree Poornathrayeesa Sangeetha Sabha will have K J Yesudas and Vijay Yesudas taking part in it

Published: 26th March 2014 09:31 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th March 2014 09:31 AM   |  A+A-


The 39th anniversary celebrations of Sree Poornathrayeesa Sangeetha Sabha will be a unique one. For, this year K J Yesudas will grace the event along with his son, singer Vijay Yesudas.

The programme will be held at Abhishekam Convention Centre near here on March 30. Yesudas will devote his performance to his father Augustine Joseph.The Sabha members said Yesudas is coming back to the annual celebration after 11 years. “He sang at eight events of the Sabha since its inception in 1975. This time we requested him to grace the event along with his son Vijay. He instantly agreed. He told us that it is the apt time to return to the event,” said Rajmohan Varma, secretary, Sree Poornathrayeesa Sangeetha Sabha.

Sabha and Music

The Sree Poornathrayeesa Sangeetha Sabha has been playing a central role in   promoting classical music by organising programmes almost ever month in a grand manner for the last 38 years. “We aim to bringing the attention of people to music. So our focus is not to hold concerts without a break,” says Rajmohan. The important programmes of the Sabha include Tyagaraja Aradhana, Deekshitar Day, Swati Tirunal Day and Jugalbandis. It has also been staging music and classical dance performances of Kerala Gharana and SPIC-Macay. The programme of the Sabha ‘Oru Ragam Pala Bhavam’, an exposition of a single raga in various music genres like kathakali, film, Hindustani and Carnatic, has got wide attention. Apart from organizing programmes, the Sabha encourages artists giving awards, including the Augustine Joseph Memorial Award. The award instituted by K J Yesudas in 1995 is being given to students who win the competition categories, including Carnatic Music General, Deekshithar Krithi and Swathithirunal Krithi. This year, the awards will be presented to Pereeza Sabu and K P Karthik.

This year’s Sangeetha Sampoorna Award and Mavelikkara Prabhakara Varma Yuvakala Prathiba Award will be presented to Kumara Kerala Varma and Ghatam Maestro Vazhapilly Krishnankumar respectively.

Stay up to date on all the latest Kochi news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp