Manappuram Minnale awards announced

Published: 05th June 2016 06:13 AM  |   Last Updated: 05th June 2016 06:13 AM   |  A+A-

KOCHI: The Tenth Manappuram Minnale Film and Television Awards were announced in Kochi on Saturday.Martin Prakkat was declared the Best Director for ‘Charlie’, which had won Dulquer Salman the Best Actor Award at the State Film Awards. Jayasurya (‘Su Su Sudhi Vatmeekam’, ‘Lukkachuppi’) and Jewel Mary (‘Pathemari’) were adjudged the Best Actor and Best Actress respectively. The Awards will be presented at a gala function to be held  at Crowne Plaza here on Tuesday.

In the TV section, Manoj Paravoor (‘Mannjurukumkalam’) bagged the award for best actor and Malavika Wales (‘Ponnambili’) for the best actress.

Bright Sam of Jeevan TV walked away with the Best Director Award for Film-related Programme.

Other winners included, Best News Cameraman, Rajesh Thakazhi (Asianet News); Best News Presenter(male), Fiji Thomas (Manorama News); Best News Presenter(female), Smrithi Paruthikad (Mathrubhumi News), Best News Documentary ‘Truth Inside’ Lijo Varghese (Media One), Best News Reporter, Sameer T (Kairali News).

Besides, Sriman Narayanan was honoured with Excellence in Arts and Literature Award while Thoppil Anto got the Lifetime Achievement Award. The winners were announced by Unique Times Editor Ajith along with Director Roy Manappallil, Television Award Committee chairman.

Stay up to date on all the latest Kochi news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp