Atlas TV awards announced

Atlas Film Critics TV Awards have been announced. “Sree Guruvayoorappan” (Soorya TV), produced by M.Ranjith and directe

Published: 07th March 2009 11:41 AM  |   Last Updated: 15th May 2012 11:13 PM   |  A+A-

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Atlas Film Critics TV Awards have been announced.  “Sree Guruvayoorappan” (Soorya TV), produced by M.Ranjith and directed by Vayalar Madhavankutty bagged the Best TV Serial Award.    Santhivila Dinesh is the best director. Kollam Thulasi and Chippy bagged the best actor and actress awards respectively.  “Swami Ayyappan” was adjudged as the best popular serial.

   Announcing the awards here on Friday, Atlas Group chairman M.M.Ramachandran and jury chairman George Onakkur said that “Chilluvilakku’’ by Santhivila Dinesh and Sibi Yogiyaveedan’s “Vishudha Alphonsamma” shared  the Second Best Serial Award.   Bijulal’s “The Way” was adjudged as the best tele-film.    The award for the best serial comprise a cash prize of Rs 20,000 and second best serials, best director and best tele-film would be given a cash prize of Rs 10,000 each.    “Parameswara Vijayam, Oru Chuttikkatha” directed by P.R.Sreekumar has bagged the award for the best documentary.  The award comprise a cash prize of Rs 7,500.  The second best tele-film, second best documentary, tele-film director and documentary director will get a cash prize of Rs 5,000 each. Other awardees will get a cash prize of Rs 3,000 each.

  Other awards: Second best actor: Shammi Thilakan (Oru Veedum Orupadu Visheshangalum), second best actress: Lena (Chilluvilakku), child artist: Akhila R.Anand, Script writer, Sreevalsan (Sree Guruvayoorappan), cinematographer: Anpumani (Mukhamukham), editor: Venugopal (The Way), lyricist: Poovachal Khadar (Chilluvilakku), music director: Jerry Amaldev (Oruveedum Orupadu Visheshangalum), art director: R.K.Radhakrishnan (Swami Ayyappan), second best tele-film: Daivathinte Melvilasam and Karimottukal, best tele-film director: Bijulal, second best documentary: ‘’Kannuchimmathe Kargil”, best documentary director: Konni Sreekumar (Kannuchimmathe Kargil), narrator: Rajani Varrier,       Special jury awards: Documentary: Ulkazhcha, presentation: Aleena Padikkal.  Baiju Devaraj of V-Trax was selected for the T.N.Gopinathan Nair Memorial gold medal  for best contribution to the television field.

 The awards would be distributed at a function to be held here in May.  The Atlas Film Award function would be held at Attingal on April 17.    Association president Thekkinkadu Joseph and general secretary Mannarakkayam Baby also attended the news conference.

Stay up to date on all the latest Thiruvananthapuram news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp