Who’ll make the cut: Balka in, Kadiyam and Nayani out?

According to sources, Rao may not consider the names of former home minister Nayani Narasimha Reddy and former deputy CM Kadiyam Srihari.

Published: 14th December 2018 05:01 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th December 2018 05:01 AM   |  A+A-

Telangana Elections
By Express News Service

HYDERABAD: After their remarkable success in the Assembly elections, multiple MLAs, and even MPs of TRS, are lobbying hard for Cabinet positions. Sources say that former Finance Minister Etela Rajender is all set to be named Speaker of the Assembly now. MP Balka Suman, who is now the MLA-elect of Chennur, is likely to be given a portfolio this time.

According to sources, Rao may not consider the names of former home minister Nayani Narasimha Reddy and former deputy CM Kadiyam Srihari.  Srihari may be asked to contest from Warangal Lok Sabha seat in the next election.

Home Minister Md Mahmood
Ali embraces Chief Minister 
K Chandrasekhar Rao at Raj

However, with Etela Rajender likely to be made Speaker,  the exit of a BC from the Council may be compensated in the Assembly.

The names of former Chief Whip and senior MLA Koppula Eswar, senior MLA Erraballi Dayakar Rao are also doing the rounds for ministerial berths. Rao may consider inducting former health minister C Laxma Reddy and State Planning Board vice-chairman Singireddy Niranjan Reddy from Mahbubnagar into the Cabinet.

State Rythu Samanvaya Samithi chairman Gutta Sukhender Reddy’s name is also being tipped for a Cabinet berth. The giant killer — Nomula Narasimhaiah, a  Yadava, who defeated K Jana Reddy, may also be inducted, party sources said. Another name doing the rounds is Patnam Narender Reddy. 

ALSO READ | KCR sworn-in as Telangana CM for second term, former deputy CM Mahmood Ali too takes oath

Under women’s category, Rao may consider former Deputy Speaker M Padma Devender Reddy and Gongidi Sunita.  Padma Devender Reddy, according to sources, is not keen on Speaker post.
Meanwhile, sources from Adilabad claim  G Nagesh, the MP from the region, is likely to be inducted in the cabinet as well. Nagesh had served as a tribal welfare minister in united AP.

Two Warangal leaders to get Cabinet berths?

According to pink party insiders, there is a possibility of two from Warangal district making it to the Cabinet. But they are not sure who those two leaders will be as K Chandrasekhar Rao is said to have finalised two names while his son KT Rama Rao is in favour including another from the district. The three leaders who are in the picture are six-time MLA Errabelli Dayakar Rao representing Palakurthi Assembly, three-time MLA D Vinay Bhaskar representing Warangal West and Kadiyam Srihari, who served as the deputy chief minister and education minister in the previous government.

Though Dayakar Rao has been an MLA for over three decades, he was never considered for a ministerial post in the past as the caste equations came in the way. He was not included in Chandrasekhar Rao’s previous Cabinet as he joined the pink party from TDP only in 2016. Though the TRS chief is said to have assured him of a post this time, Dayakar Rao said to have started intense lobbying as he wants to avoids a situation where he will be denied the post at the last moment. Meanwhile, Vinay Bhaskar is also said to be in the race for a Cabinet post and his chances look bright too as he is considered close to KT Rama Rao, who is said to be happy with the role the former played in strengthening the party in Warangal city. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Telangana Elections news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp