Telangana Elections: After TRS massive win, Legislative Council is up for an overhaul

With the terms of some MLCs coming to an end, and due to resignations for some more, the State Legislative Council is up for a complete overhaul.

Published: 15th December 2018 03:42 AM  |   Last Updated: 15th December 2018 03:42 AM   |  A+A-

Telangana elections 2018

Express News Service

HYDERABAD: With the terms of some s coming to an end, and due to resignations for some more, the State Legislative Council is up for a complete overhaul. The ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi, after its remarkable performance in the recent Assembly elections, will try to take advantage of the situation and win as many 17 seats in the Council.

The term of as many as nine Council members will end in March 2019. Of these, five were elected by MLAs. As TRS now has 90 members in the House, it will be easier for the party to send its leaders to replace them.

The terms of Council Chairman K Swami Goud and eight other MLCs, who were elected from a Graduates Constituency, will expire in March 2019. Three other MLCs, who have now been elected to the Assembly — Patnam Narender Reddy (Kodangal) and M Hanumanth Rao (Malkajgiri) and Komatireddy Rajgopal Reddy (Munugode) — are set to leave the Council soon.

TRS high command plans to see that four other MLCs who left the party to join Congress before the elections, are disqualified from their Council membership.

Meanwhile, sources say that TRS plans to send former Andhra Pradesh Speaker KR Suresh Reddy be made the Council Chairman. The terms of Nayani Narasimha Reddy, former Home Minister will also expire in 2020. This seat too will go to a TRS man.


Stay up to date on all the latest Telangana Elections news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp