Stage set for 8th Theatre Olympics, 30 countries to participate

The global theatre festival will have 17 Indian cities hosting 450 shows, 600 ambience performances, and 250 youth forum shows.

Published: 14th February 2018 09:14 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th February 2018 09:14 AM   |  A+A-

A performance at the 8th Theatre Olympics | Twitter photo


NEW DELHI: India is all set to host the eighth edition of the global Theatre Olympics for the first time - that will see participation from 30 countries with performances in cities across the country, over 50 days.

Hosted by the National School of Drama in collaboration with Ministry of Culture, the global theatre festival will have 17 Indian cities hosting 450 shows, 600 ambience performances, and 250 youth forum shows. It will also have more than 25,000 artistes from across the globe participating in the festival.

During the festival two international seminars will be held in Delhi and Mumbai and six national seminars will take place - in Bengaluru, Bhopal, Chandigarh, Jaipur, Kolkata, and Varanasi - hosting national and international academicians and scholars with eminent theatre practitioners.

"Many relevant issues which are usually not spoken or not talked about are often expressed and conveyed efficiently through theatre, its appeal is strong. India has got the opportunity to host the 8th Theatre Olympics where the Indian culture will be taken to the world. And I hope the next 50 days of the Theatre festival will help everyone to exchange cultures," Culture Minister Mahesh Sharma said during a press conference here on Tuesday.

During the festival, the plays will be held in Agartala, Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Bhopal, Bhubaneswar, Chandigarh, Chennai, Delhi, Guwahati, Imphal, Jaipur, Jammu, Kolkata, Mumbai, Patna, Thiruvananthapuram, and Varanasi.

Countries like Australia, Azerbaijan, Bangladesh, Belgium, Brazil, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Israel, Italy, Japan, Lithuania, Mauritius, Nepal, Poland, Russia, Sri Lanka, South Korea, Spain, Turkey, Britain, and the US will be participating at the Theatre Olympics.

Theatre veterans like Shabana Azmi, Paresh Rawal, Manoj Joshi, Himani Shivpuri, Seema Biswas and Saurabh Shukla will also take part in the festival. 

"With this international event, we wish to express our theatre practices, its variations, philosophies and sheer strength of our texts, narratives, and ways of presentation in front of the global audience. The objective is to create a platform for conversation between Indian and global artists with an intent to enrich our collective understanding and expression of art," Waman Kendre, Director, National School of Drama said. 

The festival will be inaugurated at the Red Fort on February 17 and conclude at the iconic Gateway of India in Mumbai.

The Theatre Olympics was established in 1993 at Delphi, Greece, and since then it has been held seven times in countries like Japan, Russia, Turkey, South Korea, China, and Poland.

Stay up to date on all the latest Entertainment news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp