Thikkurissi Award for Mohanlal

For his contribution to Indian cinema, the Superstar has won the 5th Thikkurissi Sukumaran Nair Memorial National Award.

Published: 29th September 2010 06:38 AM  |   Last Updated: 16th May 2012 10:14 PM   |  A+A-


Mohanlal (Pic: ENS).

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: Actor Mohanlal has bagged the fifth Thikkurissi Sukumaran Nair Memorial National Award for his contributions to Indian cinema.

The fifth visual media and Theatre Awards were also declared at a press meet, convened by members of Thikkurissi Foundation, here on Tuesday.

Nedumudi Venu and Rasaana  won the best actor and actress awards for their performance in the serial Kunjalimarikkar and Parijatham respectively. ‘Kunjalimaraikkar’ (Asianet) and ‘Vasantathinte Kanal Vazhikal’ (Kairali) shared the award for the best serial.

Vayalar Ramankutty has won the best director award for the serials ‘Sree Guruvayoorappan’ (Surya) and Kunjalimaraikar (Asianet).

Krishnan Nair and Prajusha have won the awards for best supporting actor and actress for their performance in ‘Narmudipudava’ and ‘Syamambaram’ respectively.

The other awards are:

* Best telefilm: 'The Background' 

* Best awareness cinemas: ‘Parayanmaranathu’ and ‘In the image of God’

* Best animation cinema: Greendreams

* Best music director: Vazhamuttam Chandrababu

* Best documentary: Shetells

* Best documentary director: Mahesh Kidangil

* Best video editor: Sunil Chathanoor

* Best dubbing artist: Ajith V R  

* Best sound mixer: Suresh Mailakkadu

Media awards

Subitha Sukumar of Jeevan TV has bagged the best news reader award and  B T Anilkumar of Amrita Television bagged the best news reporter award. Asianet News was declared the best news channel. S Lallu of Asianet won the best investigative reporter for his report on spurious liquor. R Jayachandran(ACV) has been declared the best presenter. R Sreejtth (Indiavision )and Ajith CR (ACV) share the award for best news cameraman. Kairali TV’s ‘Jeevanam’ and ‘Kalikudukka’  won the best  health and educational programme and children’s programme respectively.

Theatre Awards

Meenambalam Santhosh won the Thikkurissi Foundation award for best director in the theatre award category. Neyyattinkara Sanal has been declared the best actor and Sreeja M K of Sankakeli declared the best actress. ‘Amma Malayalam’ (Thiruvananthapuram Samskrithi) bagged the award for the best drama and Kodumon Gopalakrishnan won the best amateur drama artist award.

Literary Awards

‘Snehatheerangalku Vishadaraagam’, written by Madikai Ramachandran was declared the best novel. ‘Uyaram’, written by Madavoor Radhakrishnan and Nivedyam by Sreedeviamma shared the best poetry award. ‘Hridayapoorvam’, by Ravikeshavan and ‘Anadha Mandalam’ by Mayyanadu Rafi won the award for screenplay. ‘Camera kondoru kalapam’ of V K Sudheesh Kumar (Deshabhimani) was selected as the best article. ‘Kaamam, Krodham, Moham’ of Rajeev Gopalakrishnan won the best book on cinema. The award for book on drama went to 1921(Vijayan Palazhi). Saubhagyaratnangal’ (R Sanjeevkumar) won award for encyclopedic literature.

Master Of  Astrology Award went to Padanilam Gopalakrishnan and Raastha Wayanadu won the award for best social organisation. ‘Blackboard’, ‘Gravity’ and ‘King Chamber’ Little hearts won the special jury award for animation section.

Sangeetharatna award went to Parasala B Ponnamal and Vidyakulapati award went to Mattanoor Sankarankutty. The foundation decided to give honorary membership to Gokulam Gopalan, producer of the film ‘Pazhassi Raja’.

A jury comprising Chunakkara Ramankutty as chairman and Dr Indrababu and Rajasrikumar Varma as members selected the winners.

Stay up to date on all the latest Entertainment Malayalam news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp