Vijay Awards ceremony held

‘Angadi Theru’ was declared the best film; Suriya and Anjali won the awards for best actor and actress respectively.

Published: 27th June 2011 11:24 PM  |   Last Updated: 16th May 2012 09:23 PM   |  A+A-


Dhanush receives the trophy on behalf of Rajinikanth, who won the award for Most Favourite Hero.

A mind-blowing set with two giant screens on both sides and a whistling energetic audience coupled with sizzling stars. The event was Vijay TV’s fifth edition of Vijay Awards on Saturday at the SDAT Indoor Stadium was overflowing with people.

Deepali Noor received the first award for the evening, bagging the Best Costume Designer for ‘Madarasapatinam’. Selvakumar received the award for Best Art Director for the same film. Kasi Vishwanathan won the Best Editor Award for ‘Naan Mahaan Alla’. The film also fetched Best Stunt Director Award for Anal Arasu.

Gopinath and Sivakarthikeyan played the perfect hosts, entertaining the crowd with witty one-liners. In between the award presentations, stars entertained the audiences by dancing to the popular tunes. Amala Paul set the stage on fire dancing to ‘Jingu Chikka’ from ‘Mynaa’. She also won the Best Debut Actor Female Award for ‘Mynaa’. The male lead from the film, Viddharth won the Best Debut Actor Male Award.

Director Prabhu Solomon won Best Story, Screenplay and Writer Award for the same film. It also won the Best Crew of the Year Award. The National Award winner, Vairamuthu won the Best Lyricist Award for ‘Kallikatil pirantha thaaye’ in ‘Thenmerku Paruvakatru’.

In his speech, Vairamuthu said, “The award goes to the whole team and not just to me.”

Shreya Ghoshal bagged the Best Playback Singer Female Award and received a big round of applause from the audiences when she sung a line from ‘Mannipaya’. Prakash won the Best Playback Singer Male Award for the song, ‘Hosanna’, from the movie, ‘Vinnaithandi Varuvaya’.

Best Supporting Actor Male and Female Awards were given to Thambi Ramaiah and Saranya Ponvannan. In her speech, Saranya said that she has started getting awards only after donning mother roles.

The much-awaited Best Entertainer of the Year Award was bagged by Suriya for ‘Singam’. Vikram won the Best Actor Award for ‘Ravanan’ and the Best Actor Female Award went to Anjali for her performance in ‘Angadi Theru’. The film also fetched Vasantha Balan the Best Director Award.

‘Angadi Theru’ was named the best film. The Mozart of Madras, AR Rahman won the Best Music Director for ‘Vinnaithandi Varuvaya’. Apart from the jury awards, the favourite category award was chosen on the basis of the votes collected from the public. Favourite Director Award was given to Shankar and the Favourite Film was ‘Enthiran’.

Trisha won Favourite Heroine Award. When the Favourite Hero Award was given to Superstar Rajinikanth, the crowd went mad hearing their idol’s name. The Superstar also bagged the Best Villain Award for ‘Enthiran’. Dhanush received the awards and read out a letter from Rajinikanth.

In the letter, Rajinikanth had said that K Balachander introduced him and he found him to be best suited for villain roles. Director K Balanchander won the prestigious Chevalier Sivaji Ganesan Award for excellence in Indian cinema. Jury special award was given to director Seenu Ramasamy for ‘Thenmerku Paruvakatru’.

Lawrence bagged a special award for social service. Sundaram Master, who was given the Contribution to the Tamil Cinema Award, hugged his three sons — Prabhu Deva, Raju Sundaram and Nagendra Prasad — in joy.

Best actor: Vikram for ‘Ravanan’

Best actress: Anjali for ‘Angadi Theru’

Best director: Vasantha Balan for ‘Angadi Theru’

Best film: ‘Angadi Theru’

Best music director: AR Rahman

Best playback singer (female): Shreya Ghoshal

Best playback singer (male): Prakash

Favourite hero: Rajinikanth

Favourite film: ‘Enthiran'

Stay up to date on all the latest Entertainment Tamil news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp