Business Diary 2016: Indians in major managerial rejigs

Published: 27th December 2016 09:07 PM  |   Last Updated: 28th December 2016 10:08 PM  

Cyrus Mistry. (File photo)
The year 2016 for Business was not just about Cyrus Mistry’s ouster as chairman from the $100 billion-multinational conglomerate Tata, or the stepping down of Vijay Mallya as chief of his own liquor company alone either. Here’s a rewind of top managerial shuffles that made news in the year past by.
Abidali Neemuchwala. (File photo)
Abidali Neemuchwala was named the new CEO of Wipro in January. Appointed for a period of five years, the former TCS Business Services Head is the second outsider to lead the $7 billion-IT major after Vivek Paul.
Binny Bansal & Sachin Bansal. (File photo | PTI)
India’s leading e-commerce company Flipkart had Sachin Bansal (R) step down in January for co-founder Binny Bansal (L) to become its new chief. Although the two are not related, they have been colleagues since their early days at Amazon Inc.
Amar Abrol . (File photo | AFP)
Airliner Air Asia India in March announced Amar Abrol as replacing Mittu Chandilya to be its new CEO. The former American Express executive took over from Chandilya, who completed nearly a three-year stint with the budget carrier.
Umang Bedi. (Photo Courtesy: Facebook)
Facebook announced in June the appointment of Umang Bedi as managing director of its India operations. The former Adobe executive took over from Kirthiga Reddy, who now manages the social networking site’s Global Accounts team in the US. Bedi was formerly heading Adobe’s South Asia operations.
ITC chairman Y C Deveshwar. | File Photo |AFP
Indian conglomerate ITC in June announced the retirement of its Executive Chairman and CEO, Y C Deveshwar. After an almost five-decade career in the company, Deveshwar will step down from the leadership role in February 2017.
Nikesh Arora. (File photo | Reuters)
SoftBank Group announced Nikesh Arora being replaced by Ken Miyauchi as its president. Arora, who was handpicked in 2014 by the Japanese telecom group as its likely successor, was later removed citing differences that arose with the latter.
Sanjay Malik. (Photo Courtesy: Facebook)
Communications major Nokia appointed Sanjay Malik in August to head its India operations. The former Bharti executive joined the Finnish company in 2000 and took over the leadership from Sandeep Girotra.
Rajeev Mehta. (Photo Courtesy: Cognizant Facebook page)
IT major Cognizant appointed Rajeev Mehta in September to replace Gordon Coburn as president. The shuffle happened in the midst of a corruption probe on the firm by US authorities. Mehta joined the company in 1997 and had earlier headed its market services.
Film producer Siddharth Roy Kapur. (File photo | PTI)
Film producer Siddharth Roy Kapur stepped down as managing director of Walt Disney India in November. Former chief Mahesh Samat took over the leadership again after four years. Siddharth is married to Bollywood actress Vidya Balan.
Rishi Jaitly. (File photo | PTI)
Twitter India Head Rishi Jaitly (L) announced his resignation in November after leading the company for four years. His exit comes amid falling revenues and job cuts in the microblogging firm. He now leads the Times Global group.
Sunil Taldar. (Photo Courtesy: Twitter via @binusmm)
Telecom major Bharti Airtel in December appointed Sunil Taldar to lead its DTH segment — Airtel Digital TV — while making incumbent Shashi Arora the head of its payments bank division. The 12 million-subscriber base satellite service will now be run by Sunil who earlier manned confectioner Mondelez' operations in Indonesia.
NSE chief executive Chitra Ramkrishna. (File | Reuters)
The first woman director and CEO of India’s top stock exchange NSE, Chitra Ramkrishna, announced her resignation from the post in December. A 24-year career with the country’s leading trade body which was to end in March 2018 was cut short citing personal reasons.
Stay up to date on all the latest 2016 with TNIE news with The New Indian Express App. Download now