Impressive 53.86 Turnout Till Noon in Jharkhand Fifth Phase

Published: 20th December 2014 02:56 PM  |   Last Updated: 20th December 2014 02:58 PM   |  A+A-


RANCHI: An impressive 53.86 pc voter turnout was recorded till 1 PM in the 16 constituencies in tribal Santhal Parganas in Jharkhand where polling is underway in the fifth and final phase.

Pakur and Shikaripara constituencies recorded highest balloting of 60.5 per cent and 60.15 per cent respectively, and several other constituencies registered more than 50 per cent voting, an Election Commission (EC) release said.

Following close behind are Sarath (59.5), Litipara (59), Maheshpur (58), Nala (56), Jamtara (57), Jarmundi (57), Jama (56) and Poreyahat (56).

Barhait recorded 52, Rajmahal 50, Godda 48, Mahagama 48, Borio 46 and Dumka 43 per cent, it said.

Among those in the fray today are Chief Minister Hemant Soren from Dumka and Barhait, Speaker Shashank Sekhar Bhokta from Sarath and Rural Works Minister Lobin Hembrom from Borio.

Prominent Jharkhand politician and former Jharkhand Vikas Dal MP Suraj Mandal is challenging the speaker at Sarath.

Ruling JMM had won nine of the 16 seats in the 2009 assembly polls.

Police said polling is on smoothly and peacefully.

Altogether 208 candidates are contesting in this round of elections in which 36,90,069, including 17,84,486 women are eligible casting their votes at 4,448 polling stations.

EC said as many as 833 polling stations have been marked as hyper-sensitive and 1,496 sensitive and 291 polling stations will have web casting.

A total of 22,240 polling personnel have been deployed for the polling, which will end at 3 PM.

Counting is slated for December 23.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp