Jharkhand to Get First Non-tribal CM

Senior BJP leader Raghubar Das will be sworn in as the Chief Minister at the Morhabadi ground in state capital Ranchi tomorrow

Published: 27th December 2014 06:02 AM  |   Last Updated: 27th December 2014 06:02 AM   |  A+A-


PATNA: Senior BJP leader Raghubar Das, a five-time legislator representing the East Jamshedpur Assembly segment, is set to become the first non-tribal Chief Minister of Jharkhand.

And the former Deputy Chief Minister Das will be sworn in as the Chief Minister at the Morhabadi ground in Ranchi on December 28. Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be among the  galaxy of top leaders expected to attend the function.

Das’ name was proposed by another senior BJP leader and fellow contender for the CM post, Saryu Rai and seconded by veteran leader C P Singh.

BJP central observers, Union Minister J P Nadda and Vinay Sahastrabudhe, had attended the Legislature Party(LP) meeting, which finalised Das’ name for the top job.

Later, the CM-designate accompanied by a BJP delegation called on state Governor Syed Ahmed and staked the claim for government formation.

Das will be the 10th Chief minister of Jharkhand, which was carved out of Bihar in 2000. Since then the state has had nine governments and three stints of President’s Rule.

The saffron party, which fought the elections in alliance with the All Jharkhand Student’s Union (AJSU) and the Lok Janshakti Party(LJP) had secured an absolute majority, winning 42 seats along with its ally (AJSU) in the 81- member Jharkhand Assembly.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp