Raghubar Das Sworn-in as Jharkhand CM, Heads Coalition Government

Governor Syed Ahmed administered the oath of office and secrecy to 59-year-old Das at the Birsa Munda Football Stadium.

Published: 28th December 2014 05:55 PM  |   Last Updated: 28th December 2014 05:55 PM   |  A+A-


RANCHI: BJP leader Raghubar Das was on Sunday sworn-in as the new Chief Minister of Jharkhand at the head of a five-member BJP-Ajsu coalition government, becoming the first non-tribal leader to rule the state.

Governor Syed Ahmed administered the oath of office and secrecy to 59-year-old Das at the Birsa Munda Football Stadium.

Nilkanth Singh Munda, Chandreswar Prasad Singh, Louis Marandi (all BJP) and Chandraprakash Choudhary (Ajsu party) were also sworn-in as Cabinet Ministers.

Jharkhand has a maximum limit of 12 ministers, including the Chief Minister.

Dense fog in New Delhi led Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah to cancel their visit to Jharkhand to attend the ceremony.

Das, a National Vice President of the party, became the tenth Chief Minister after Babulal Marandi (once), Arjun Munda (thrice), Shibu Soren (thrice), Madhu Koda (once) and Hemant Soren (once) in 14 years after Jharkhand was created.

After being elected as the BJP's Legislature Party leader on Friday, Das had staked claim to form government on December 26 at the head of BJP-Asju alliance.

Das joined BJP as a worker and then gradually rose through party ranks before getting the first break when he was nominated as party candidate from Jamshedpur (East) in the 1995 Assembly polls in undivided Bihar. He went on to win the seat five times.

He became a Minister for the first time after the creation of Jharkhand in the Babulal Marandi government and got berths in the subsequent two governments led by Arjun Munda before becoming the Deputy Chief Minister in the Shibu Soren-led government in 2009.

He held portfolios of Finance, Labour and Urban Development during his stint as Cabinet Minister.

This is the first time that BJP, along with its pre-poll ally Ajsu, has got an absolute majority in 81-member state Assembly.

While BJP has 37 members, AJSU has five, taking their total tally to 42. PTI

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp