ED Chief Shifted in Top Babus Reshuffle

The Appointment Committee of Cabinet (ACC), headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi has effected a major reshuffle of Secretaries at the Centre.

Published: 14th July 2014 07:29 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th July 2014 07:29 AM   |  A+A-

NEW DELHI: The Appointment Committee of Cabinet (ACC), headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi has effected a major reshuffle of Secretaries at the Centre.

Enforcement Directorate Chief Rajan Katoch will succeed Sutanu Behuria as Secretary, Heavy Industries. Katoch, a 1979 batch IAS officer of Madhya Pradesh cadre, will continue to hold Additional charge of Director, ED for six months or till the appointment of new Chief.

The ACC also cleared central deputation of Sanjay Kumar Panda currently serving as Chief Secretary, Tripura. Panda will succeed Zohra Chaterjee, Secretary of Ministry of textiles who is due to retire on July 31. Panda, a 1980 batch IAS officer had earlier served as Joint Secretary in the health Ministry during 2009-2010.

Another Odisha officer and Chief Secretary of the State Jugal Kishore Mohapatra is also on his way to Delhi as Secretary, Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers. A 1979 Batch IAS officer Mohapatra will succeed Shaktikanta Das who was appointed as Revenue Secretary last month. Mohapatra served as Joint Secretary, Rural Development during UPA-I tenure. Rakesh Garg, IAS officer of UP cadre 1980 batch will take charge as Telecom Secretary. Garg is currently serving as Principal Secretary in parent cadre.

Former Permanent Representative to UNESCO, Vinay Sheel Oberoi has been appointed as Secretary, Ministry of Women and Child Development. He will succeed Shankar Agarwal who was transferred to the position of Secretary in the Urban Development Ministry.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp