Two Dissident Ministers Sacked in Assam

Published: 23rd July 2014 12:37 AM  |   Last Updated: 23rd July 2014 12:41 AM   |  A+A-


GUWAHATI: Apparently backed by the Congress high command, Assam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi Tuesday cracked down on dissidents pressing for his ouster sacking two ministers and accepting the resignation of top rebel leader Himant Biswa Sarma.

Irrigation and Soil Conservation Minister Ardhendu Dey and Cooperation and Border Areas Minister Siddique Ahmed were removed from the ministry and the resignation of Health and Education Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma's resignation was accepted and forward to the Governor, Chief Minister's Office sources said. They said the two ministers were dropped for "going against" the government and the CM and also for "anti-party" activities.

Gogoi officially conveyed to Governor J B Patnaik the dimissal of the two ministers, the sources added.

Gogoi conveyed to Congress President Sonia Gandhi about Himanta's resignation and forwarded his letter to Patnaik, according to the sources.

The action by Gogoi against the dissidents came a day after the Congress central leadership described the rebellion in Assam, and also by Narayan Rane in Maharashtra, as driven by some leaders' "personal ambition".

Himanta Biswa Sarma had met Patnaik Monday and submitted his resignation. He claimed he met the Governor along with 38 MLAs and expressed no-confidence in the Chief Minister.

Sarma and other dissidents in Congress in Assam began gunning for Gogoi soon after the party's poor show in Lok Sabha elections.

Sarma refused to contest the next assembly polls in the state, due in less than two years, under Gogoi's leadership and alleged Congress's strength in the Assembly would be reduced to a single digit if Gogoi remains the leader.

Hitting back, Gogoi today said "the people of Assam are politically mature enough to know that Himanta's resignation was a drama".

Gogoi said he has seen the worst days for the party in Assam and did not need the certificate from anyone after having been in politics for fifty years.

Prior to the sacking of the two ministers and acceptance of Sarma's resignation today, the Tarun Gogoi ministry comprised 17 ministers, including four ministers with independent charge.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp