Action against 19 Missing Customs, Excise Officials

Published: 26th July 2014 07:45 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th July 2014 07:45 AM   |  A+A-

NEW DELHI: Around 19 senior officers of Customs and Excise are missing from service for over five years but the Centre has no clue about their whereabouts.

After desperate wait, the government has decided to initiate disciplinary action against all the IRS officers under the Central Civil Services rules, 1965.

A letter from Joy Kumari Chander, Member (P&V), to the Chief Commissioners on June 25, had sought the original personal files and service books of 19 missing officers to take appropriate action. As per the Central Board of Excise and Custom (CBEC) letter, Meenu G Krishnan, a 1980 batch IRS officer who was promoted as Commissioner in 2002, is missing since July 2003.

Despite being on unauthorised leave for 11 years, the CBEC in June had listed her name for non-functional upgradation by extending the grade of Principal Commissioner.

Anil Singh Bedi, Additional Commissioner was transferred from Bhopal Zone to NACEN Faridabad, but he did not join the new assignment. The CBEC doesn’t have details regarding additional commissioner Rajesh Nagpal, IRS officer of 1989 batch. Ram Sewak Dubey, Additional Commissioner was on study leave from 2004 to 2006 after which Extra Ordinary Leave (EOL) for three years was sanctioned till 2009. However, the CBEC said he did not join posting at Shillong.

Rajesh Kumar Jha, Joint Commissioner was transferred to Bangalore from Mumbai in 2006, however, the CBEC said no information is available about the officer who did not join the new field posting.

Rajyashri Waghray Deputy Commissioner is missing since 1999. Smita Rawat, Assistant Commissioner in Delhi Central Excise, is missing since 1997. Another Assistant Commissioner Vinay Kumar Bawa, who was transferred to Customs, Amritsar from Delhi Zone in 2004, has not joined the new posting. There are five other officers who were yet to be traced by the government.

Interestingly, Ministry of Finance in a written reply on Friday in the Lok Sabha said that two officers out the 19 missing officers, Anil Singh Bedi, IRS officer of 1986 batch, and Rajesh Nagpal of 1989 batch have been dismissed from the service while resignation of one officer Amit Goel has been accepted. However, no information was provided about 16 other missing officers.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp